Structure and organisation of the faculty - Faculty of Engineering

Faculty structure

The Faculty of Engineering operates on the Clayton campus in Australia and on the Sunway campus in Malaysia. The faculty comprises the following departments and schools:

Research strengths

The Faculty of Engineering is committed to providing an environment in which the brightest students and scholars can together pursue their educational and research goals at the highest international standard in the major branches of engineering and consequently contribute to the prosperity of Australia and its region of the world.

Engineering is a research-intensive faculty. The faculty's ongoing success in raising competitive research funds translates into extensive support for researchers and state-of-the-art laboratories and research infrastructure. New Horizons, the most significant technology hub in the southern hemisphere provides a wide range of state-of-the-art equipment and core facilities to support the highest quality research, research training and collaboration in science, engineering and technology. With a large network of research centres, institutes and participation in cooperative research centres, the faculty also collaborates with research organisations, including Australia's Synchrotron, the National Stem Cell Centre, the Commonwealth Scientific and Industrial Research Organisation (CSIRO) and the Defence Science and Technology Organisation (DSTO).

Major areas of research activity include:

  • advanced manufacturing
  • asset performance improvement and maintenance
  • autonomous unmanned systems
  • biomechatronics
  • biomedical-engineering
  • clean energy technologies
  • computer assisted/integrated surgery
  • computer systems and robotics
  • deep earth energy
  • electronics and electromagnetics
  • embedded real-time system design and implementation
  • engineering alloys
  • engineering for extremes
  • food and pharmaceutical engineering
  • fluid dynamics and aeronautical research
  • materials durability
  • micro-nano mechanical and optical engineering
  • model-data fusion
  • nanomaterials and nanostructures
  • particulate system modelling
  • polymer science and engineering
  • railway engineering
  • renewable energy
  • robotics
  • rotorcraft dynamics and controls
  • sensing technologies
  • smart structures
  • structural mechanics
  • sustainable infrastructure
  • sustainable processing
  • telecommunications
  • turbulence, flow control, propulsion and combustion
  • vehicle aerodynamics and aero-acoustics
  • water-sensitive urban design.

Faculty organisation

The faculty is a statutory body comprising all full-time members of the teaching staff. The responsibility for making decisions in the faculty lies with the faculty executive, which comprises senior members of the academic and professional staff.

The chief officers of the faculty are the dean and the faculty manager. As the chief executive of the faculty, the dean provides academic leadership to the faculty, presides over some meetings, and is part of the senior management group of the university. The faculty manager is responsible for administrative matters such as financial and physical resources planning, marketing of the faculty's teaching, research and consultancy activities, implementation of university statutes, regulations and academic policy, development and management of the faculty's courses and units and all issues connected with undergraduate and postgraduate student candidatures and academic progression.

Got a question? Monash Connect can help