Structure and organisation of the faculty - Faculty of Science

The Faculty of Science at Monash is home to a vibrant, dynamic and world-renowned community at the forefront of innovation and discovery in biology, chemistry, physics and astronomy, mathematics and earth, atmospheric and environmental sciences.

Embracing the theoretical and the experimental, our research intersects with industry and government. Our scientists play a leading role on the national and international stage, collaborating with major institutions and industries worldwide. Fundamental to our vision is the training of future researchers who make a vital contribution to the Australian and global economies. Our students are taught, nurtured and mentored by scientists who are working at the cutting edge of their disciplines.

The Faculty of Science offers a variety of courses, based on on-campus teaching at the Clayton and Malaysia campuses, and via a small number of units in off-campus learning mode. The faculty has six schools at the two campuses.


Science majors and minors are also offered by schools and departments in some other faculties at the Clayton campus, including:

  • School of Biomedical Sciences, and the School of Psychological Sciences in the Faculty of Medicine, Nursing and Health Sciences
  • Faculty of Information Technology.


We're making some changes...

Soon all online enquiries will be made through our virtual assistant. You can get in early and try our virtual assistant right now.

You may have a question our virtual assistant can answer immediately.

If you are following up on an enquiry you submitted earlier, you can also do this in our virtual assistant.