Introduction to the faculty - Faculty of Law

The Monash Faculty of Law is consistently recognised as one of the world’s leading Law schools. Our excellence in research, teaching and scholarship has been at the forefront of legal education for decades in Australia. We provide a broad teaching base, with course offerings at all levels, and pride ourselves on offering real, tangible legal experience and international study opportunities to equip our students with an extensive legal education.

Monash Law currently offers eight undergraduate programs including a single Bachelor of Laws (Honours), and seven double degrees combined with a range of disciplines. Each of these may be entered at first year.

The undergraduate program is offered at the University's Clayton campus. The Law School building houses the University's well-known Law Library which provides scholarly resources, study facilities and research skills development programs.

The dedicated Monash University Law Chambers situated in the Melbourne Legal district complements the Clayton base along with legal clinics in Oakleigh and Springvale. The faculty also has an international presence in Prato Italy and Malaysia where dedicated law units are offered to Monash students as well as students from overseas universities.

The faculty's vibrant research culture is supported by three dedicated research centres: the Castan Centre for Human Rights Law, the Australian Centre for Justice Innovation and the Commercial Law and Regulatory Studies Centre. These centres produce influential research that is doctrinal, theoretical, policy-orientated, global and comparative in its outlook. The faculty collaborates with world leaders in law research and education throughout Australia and internationally and demonstrates top-tier research intensive performance.

Structure and organisation of the faculty

The Law School has approximately 70 academic staff, 50 professional staff and a total enrolment of around 3800 undergraduate and postgraduate students across all year levels.

The Faculty of Law is a single-department faculty governed by the dean and executive committee, the members of which have major portfolio responsibilities in the areas of staffing, research, education policy, postgraduate studies, undergraduate studies, international engagement and management and administration. The faculty general manager is the faculty's senior executive responsible to the dean for all faculty-based administrative systems, services, records and resources and is supported by a small team of managers.

The associate dean (education) is responsible for the governance and oversight of all postgraduate and undergraduate courses, including curriculum, teaching quality and the training and evaluation of academic staff. Program directors are charged with day-to-day responsibility for academic management of the three main teaching programs: Bachelor of Laws (Honours), Juris Doctor (JD) and Master of Laws (LLM).

The student services manager, together with the faculty student services team, is available to attend to the needs of undergraduate students within the faculty.

We're making some changes...

Soon all online enquiries will be made through our virtual assistant. You can get in early and try our virtual assistant right now.

You may have a question our virtual assistant can answer immediately.

If you are following up on an enquiry you submitted earlier, you can also do this in our virtual assistant.