Sigma Theta Tau International (STTI)

Monash Nursing and Midwifery are a founding member of the Victorian and Tasmanian society of the STTI. The STTI was originally founded in 1922 by six nurses in the USA to support the learning, knowledge and professional development of nurses making a difference in global health.  The STTI currently has members in approximately 500 chapters in over 90 countries.

This is a collaborative venture currently between Monash University, Victoria University, the University of Tasmania and Federation University. Membership to this organisation is based on recognition and reward of our outstanding nursing students, clinicians and leaders for their contribution to advancing the discipline of nursing and patient care.

The first induction ceremony was held in November 2014 for our 120 or so new members. The ceremony was attended by Professor Christina Mitchell, Dean of Medicine, Nursing and Health Sciences, Monash University, and Professor Debra Anderson, Oceanic Regional Coordinator of the STTI, who gave the inaugural keynote address.

This new chapter will support the professional development activities such as education, research, career development and our commitment to advancing world health.