Our staff

Clinical Trials, Imaging and Informatics Division

Thanh PhanHead of Division
Adjunct Professor Thanh Phan
Prof. Henry Ma 

Head of Stroke
Adj Clin Assoc Prof Henry Ma


Academic staff
Dr Richard Beare


Academic staff
Dr John Ly

Ben Clissold 

Academic staff
Adjunct Senior Lecturer Dr Ben Clissold
Dr Benjamin Clissold is an acute stroke specialist and neurologist with research expertise in stroke epidemiology and modelling stroke care. He is involved in stroke management in both metropolitan and regional settings in comprehensive and primary stroke centres. He is member of the Australasian Stroke Clinical Registry (AuSCR) Task Group. In addition to his position at Monash University in the Stroke and Ageing Research group, he also holds an Honorary Fellow position at Deakin University in the Centre for Pattern Recognition and Data Analytics. He has published papers in peer reviewed journals on stroke and neurological diseases. He is undertaking a doctorate at Monash University through the Department of Epidemiology and Preventive Medicine in relation to patterns of stroke admissions in Victoria using data linkage methods. He has expertise in acute stroke, cardioembolic aspects of stroke management and telemedicine. He is a current member of the Victorian Stroke Clinical Network Leadership (VSCN) Group and executive member of the Australasian Stroke Trials Network (ASTN).  He is an active participant in the Victorian Stroke Telemedicine (VST) Service.

 Research staff
Dr Shaloo Singhal
Dr Singhal is a neurologist with an interest in stroke. In her capacity as research fellow she is conducting research into the imaging predictors of hypoxic ischemic brain injury, as well as characterising acute perfusion abnormalities in small subcortical infarcts.
 Stroke research fellow
Dr Tharani Thirugnana Chandran
 Stroke Research Nurse
Ms Kitty Wong
 Stroke Research Nurse
Ms Veronic Hervet