Research Supervisors - School of Mathematical Sciences

Supervisor Name Research Areas Email address

PURE MATHEMATICS

Dr Santiago Barrera AcevedoAlgebraic design theory, cocyclic Hadamard matrices, relative difference sets, correlation of finite arrays, and other combinatorial designs.Santiago.Barrera.Acevedo@monash.edu
Dr Yann Bernard Functional analysis, harmonic analysis, geometric analysis, elliptic and parabolic PDEs, variational calculus. Yann.Bernard@monash.edu
Dr Julie Clutterbuck Eigenvalues, parabolic equations, heat flow, geometric analysis, calculus of variations, geometric evolution equations, mean curvature flow. Julie.Clutterbuck@monash.edu
Dr Heiko Dietrich Algebra and its computational aspects: group theory and p-groups, lie algebras, computing with matrix groups. Computer algebra systems GAP and Magma. Heiko.Dietrich@monash.edu
Dr Norman Do Geometry, topology, combinatorics and mathematical physics, enumerative geometry, moduli spaces of curves, Gromov-Witten theory, graphs on surfaces, matrix models and topological recursion. Norm.Do@monash.edu
Dr Jerome Droniou Theoretical and numerical analysis of partial differential equations, elliptic and parabolic equations, Scalar conservation laws with non-local fractional power of the Laplace operator (Levy operator). Jerome.Droniou@monash.edu
A/Prof Zihua Guo Harmonic analysis: boundedness in function spaces for linear/multilinear operators related to the Fourier restriction problem and PDEs, function spaces. Nonlinear evolutionary PDEs arising in mathematical physics. Zihua.Guo@monash.edu
Dr Andy Hammerlindl Dynamical systems and ergodic theory.  Interactions between geometry, topology, and dynamics. Andy.Hammerlindl@monash.edu
Dr Daniel Horsley Steiner triple systems and other combinatorial designs, colourings of combinatorial designs, cycle decompositions of graphs and other graph decomposition problems. Daniel.Horsley@monash.edu
Dr Daniel Mathews Contact and symplectic topology, hyperbolic geometry, Heegaard Floer homology, and topological quantum field theory. Daniel.Mathews@monash.edu
A/Prof Oliynyk Partial differential equations, singular limits of symmetric hyperbolic systems, geometric PDE's, general relativity, Newtonian limit, post-Newtonian expansions, Einstein-Yang-Mills, gravitating perfect fluids and elastic bodies, geometric flows, Ricci flow, renormalization group flow. Todd.Oliynyk@monash.edu
Dr Brett ParkerDifferential and algebraic geometry and topology, symplectic geometry, mathematical physics, holomorphic curves and Gromov-Witten invariants, tropical geometry.Brett.Parker@monash.edu
A/Prof Burkard Polster Finite and topological geometry, combinatorial designs, group theory, history of mathematics, classical interpolation theory, computer visualisation, mathematics education and outreach. Burkard.Polster@monash.edu
A/Prof Jessica Purcell Topology and geometry, particularly hyperbolic geometry and 3-manifolds, and applications to knot theory.

Jessica.Purcell@monash.edu

Prof Ian Wanless Latin squares and other combinatorial matrices; quasigroups, matrix permanents, graph theory (matchings, factorisations, random graphs), enumeration algorithms for combinatorial objects. Ian.Wanless@monash.edu
Prof David Wood Discrete mathematics and theoretical computer science, with an emphasis on structural graph theory, geometric graph theory, graph colouring, graph drawing, and combinatorial geometry. David.Wood@monash.edu
Prof Nick Wormald Random structures and probabilistic combinatorics, graph theory, enumeration of graphs and maps, asymptotic enumeration and minimal Steiner trees. Solving combinatorial problems using real and complex analysis, probability and stochastic processes, and generating functions. Nick.Wormald@monash.edu

APPLIED AND COMPUTATIONAL MATHEMATICS

Dr Leo Brewin Numerical solution of Einstein's equations, numerical algorithms. Leo.Brewin@monash.edu
Prof Paul Cally Solar physics, magnetohydrodynamics, helioseismology, MHD waves. Paul.Cally@monash.edu
Dr Simon Clarke Evolution of nonlinear waves in geophysical fluid dynamics, numerical modelling meteorology, modeling density-stratified fluids.      Simon.Clarke@monash.edu
Dr Tiangang Cui
Computational Inverse problems; data assimilation; Model reduction; PDE-constrained optimisation; Markov chain Monte Carlo; Computational geophysics; Subsurface modelling (oil/gas and geothermal)
Tiangang.Cui@monash.edu
Dr Kengo Deguchi Dynamical systems theory picture of purely- and magneto-hydro dynamic turbulence, and asymptotic analysis of coherent vortices in it. Kengo.Deguchi@monash.edu
Prof Hans De Sterck Numerical methods for computational and data science, numerical linear algebra, numerical optimization, numerical methods for PDEs, multilevel methods, parallel and distributed computing.      Hans.DeSterck@monash.edu
Dr Alina-Catalina Donea Solar flares and solar quakes, helioseismic holograph, high energy astrophysics of black holes and relativistic jets, ultra high energy cosmic rays. Alina.Donea@monash.edu
Dr Jerome Droniou Theoretical and numerical analysis of partial differential equations, elliptic and parabolic equations, scalar conservation laws with non-local fractional power of the Laplace operator (Levy operator). Jerome.Droniou@monash.
Prof Andreas Ernst Operations Research, Integer Programming, Meta-heuristics, Applications of optimisation in logistics, mining & rostering. Andreas.Ernst@monash.edu
Dr Mark Flegg Mathematical modelling of biological and chemical processes, including cell behaviour and interaction, reaction-diffusion processes, tissue morphogenesis and signal transduction. Modelling ultrasound interaction with cancellous bone. Mark.Flegg@monash.edu
Prof Phil Hall Geomorphology, turbulence, fluid dynamics. Phil.Hall@monash.edu
A/Prof Michael Page Theoretical and computational fluid dynamics; rotating fluid flows; high-Reynolds-number flows; computational partial differential equations in biological applications. Michael.Page@monash.edu
Dr Janosch Rieger Control theory, numerical dynamics, optimisation, convex and set-valued analysis. Janosch.Rieger@monash.edu
Dr Anja Slim Theoretical, numerical, and experimental fluid dynamics, especially relevant to geology and industrial processes. Anja.Slim@monash.edu

STOCHASTIC PROCESSES

Dr Andrea Collevecchio Stochastic processes, large deviations and applications to statistical mechanics, random graph theory, self-interacting random processes, urn models. Andrea.Collevecchio@monash.edu
A/Prof Yan DolinskyMathematical Finance, Hedging under uncertainty, hedging under friction, numerical schemes for financial markets, scaling limits.Yan.Dolinsky@monash.edu
Dr Hasan FallahgoulFinancial econometrics, quantitative finance, tail risk, Model risk, asset pricing, asset allocation, Economic models under uncertainty.Hasan.Fallahgoul@monash.edu
A/Prof Tim Garoni Mathematical physics, statistical mechanics, combinatorics (probability on graphs), Markov chain Monte Carlo methods, stochastic cellular automata, modeling traffic flow on networks. Tim.Garoni@monash.edu
Dr Jane Gao Probabilistic combinatorics, theoretical computer science, algorithms, asymptotic enumeration, analysis of random structures and processes. Jane.Gao@monash.edu
A/Prof Kais Hamza General theory of stochastic processes, representation properties for martingales, markov jump processes, applications of stochastic processes to modelling of financial markets. Kais.Hamza@monash.edu
A/Prof Jonathan Keith Bayesian statistics, Markov chain Monte Carlo methods, bioinformatics, computational biology, comparative genomics, functional genomics, phylogenetics, genetic epidemiology, genome-wide association studies, linkage analysis, stylometry. Jonathan.Keith@monash.edu
Prof Fima Klebaner Stochastic processes, probability; stochastic models, populations models, financial mathematics, volatility, market models, martingales, random perturbations, applied probability. Fima.Klebaner@monash.edu
A/Prof Gregoire Loeper Non-linear PDEs: Elliptic & parabolic PDEs, PDEs of fluid mechanics and kinetics, Optimal transportation and Monge-Ampere Equation.
Mathematical Finance: Stochastic Control, Numerical Methods for Finance, Exotic products pricing methods.
Gregoire.Loeper@monash.edu
Dr Gregory Markowsky Stochastic processes, Markov chains, complex analysis, probability on graphs, financial mathematics. Greg.Markowsky@monash.edu
Dr Kihun NamBackward stochastic differential equations, optimal control of random systems such as dynamic random network, stochastic differential game, and their application to finance and biology.Kihun.Nam@monash.edu
A/Prof Tianhai Tian Mathematical modelling of complex biological systems, including genetic regulatory networks, cell signalling transduction pathways, and cancer therapy. Inference of genetic regulation from omics datasets. Numerical simulation of stochastic chemical reaction systems. Numerical solutions for stiff stochastic differential equations. Parallel computing. Tianhai.Tian@monash.edu