Research Supervisors - School of Mathematics

Supervisor Name Research Areas Email address

PURE MATHEMATICS

Dr Santiago Barrera AcevedoAlgebraic design theory, cocyclic Hadamard matrices, relative difference sets, correlation of finite arrays, and other combinatorial designs.Santiago.Barrera.Acevedo@monash.edu
Dr Yann Bernard Functional analysis, harmonic analysis, geometric analysis, elliptic and parabolic PDEs, variational calculus. Yann.Bernard@monash.edu
Dr Julie Clutterbuck Eigenvalues, parabolic equations, heat flow, geometric analysis, calculus of variations, geometric evolution equations, mean curvature flow. Julie.Clutterbuck@monash.edu
A/Prof Heiko Dietrich Computational algebra, in particular, group theory, Lie theory, and some aspects of algebraic design theory. Heiko.Dietrich@monash.edu
Dr Norman Do Geometry, topology, combinatorics and mathematical physics, enumerative geometry, moduli spaces of curves, Gromov-Witten theory, graphs on surfaces, matrix models and topological recursion. Norm.Do@monash.edu
Prof Jerome Droniou Numerical methods for elliptic and parabolic PDEs, polytopal meshes, high-order methods, finite volume methods, convergence analysis, compactness techniques. Jerome.Droniou@monash.edu
A/Prof Zihua Guo Harmonic/Fourier analysis, nonlinear PDEs of dispersive type and Fluid dynamics. Zihua.Guo@monash.edu
Dr Andy Hammerlindl Dynamical systems and ergodic theory.  Interactions between geometry, topology, and dynamics. Andy.Hammerlindl@monash.edu
A/Prof Daniel Horsley Combinatorial designs and edge decompositions of graphs, especially embedding, colouring and matching problems for block designs and cycle decompositions of graphs. Daniel.Horsley@monash.edu
Dr Mikhail IsaevAnalytic methods in enumerative combinatorics, generating functions, asymptotic analysis, random graphs and hypergraphsMikhail.Isaev@monash.edu
Dr Ngan LeTheoretical and numerical analysis of stochastic partial differential equations, anomalous sub-diffusion equations.Ngan.Le@monash.edu
Dr Daniel Mathews Low-dimensional topology, knot theory, contact and symplectic topology, hyperbolic geometry, Heegaard Floer homology, mathematical physics, topological quantum field theory, and their algebraic, geometry, and combinatorics. Daniel.Mathews@monash.edu
Prof Todd Oliynyk Partial differential equations, singular limits of symmetric hyperbolic systems, geometric PDE's, general relativity, Newtonian limit, post-Newtonian expansions, Einstein-Yang-Mills, gravitating perfect fluids and elastic bodies, geometric flows, Ricci flow, renormalization group flow. Todd.Oliynyk@monash.edu
Dr Brett ParkerDifferential and algebraic geometry and topology, symplectic geometry, mathematical physics, holomorphic curves and Gromov-Witten invariants, tropical geometry.Brett.Parker@monash.edu
A/Prof Burkard Polster Finite and topological geometry, combinatorial designs, group theory, history of mathematics, classical interpolation theory, computer visualisation, mathematics education and outreach. Burkard.Polster@monash.edu
Prof Jessica Purcell Low-dimensional topology and geometry.

Jessica.Purcell@monash.edu

Dr Wenhui ShiNonlinear Partial Differential Equations, calculus of variations.Wenhui.Shi@monash.edu
Prof Warwick TuckerDynamical systems, Chaos theory, Computer-assisted proofs, Artificial intelligence.Warwick.Tucker@monash.edu
Prof Ian Wanless Latin squares and other combinatorial matrices; quasigroups, matrix permanents, graph theory (matchings, factorisations, random graphs), enumeration algorithms for combinatorial objects. Ian.Wanless@monash.edu
Prof David Wood Discrete mathematics and theoretical computer science, with an emphasis on structural graph theory, geometric graph theory, graph colouring, graph drawing, and combinatorial geometry. David.Wood@monash.edu
Prof Nick Wormald Random structures and probabilistic combinatorics, graph theory, enumeration of graphs and maps, asymptotic enumeration and minimal Steiner trees. Solving combinatorial problems using real and complex analysis, probability and stochastic processes, and generating functions. Nick.Wormald@monash.edu

APPLIED AND COMPUTATIONAL MATHEMATICS

Prof Santiago BadiaCOMPUTATIONAL MATHEMATICS: Numerical approximation of PDEs, Computational Science and Engineering, Parallel Scientific Computing, Numerical Linear AlgebraSantiago.Badia@monash.edu
Prof Paul Cally Solar physics, magnetohydrodynamics, helioseismology, MHD waves. Paul.Cally@monash.edu
Dr Simon Clarke Evolution of nonlinear waves in geophysical fluid dynamics, numerical modelling meteorology, modeling density-stratified fluids.      Simon.Clarke@monash.edu
Dr Tiangang Cui
Computational inverse problems; Uncertainty quantification; Model reduction; Machine learning; Computational geophysics; Subsurface flows.
Tiangang.Cui@monash.edu
Dr Kengo DeguchiMathematical physics, High-speed fluid flows, asymptotic analysis, nonlinear PDEs (Naiver-Stokes equations), dynamical systems theory picture of turbulence.Kengo.Deguchi@monash.edu
Dr Alina Donea Solar Physics, Applied Mathematics for Helioseismology, Solar flares, Machine Learning Data Applications and solar quakes.Alina.Donea@monash.edu
Prof Jerome Droniou Numerical methods for elliptic and parabolic PDEs, polytopal meshes, high-order methods, finite volume methods, convergence analysis, compactness techniques. Jerome.Droniou@monash.
Prof Andreas Ernst Operations Research, Integer Programming, Meta-heuristics, Applications of optimisation in logistics, mining & rostering. Andreas.Ernst@monash.edu
Dr Mark Flegg Applied mathematics, Mathematical modelling, Applied stochastic processes, multiscale modelling and Mathematical biology. Mark.Flegg@monash.edu
Prof Phil HallApplied Mathematics, nonlinear stability theory, turbulence. Phil.Hall@monash.edu
Dr Ngan LeTheoretical and numerical analysis of stochastic partial differential equations, anomalous sub-diffusion equations.Ngan.Le@monash.edu
Dr Janosch RiegerI am working on the numerical and analytical treatment of stationary and evolving shapes and sets with applications in control theory, inverse problems and dynamical systems.Janosch.Rieger@monash.edu
A/Prof Ricardo Ruiz BaierNumerical analysis of PDEs, mixed finite element methods, modelling of multiphase flow in porous media, large solid deformations, cardiac electromechanics.Ricardo.RuizBaier@monash.edu
Dr Anja Slim Theoretical, numerical, and experimental fluid dynamics, especially relevant to geology and industrial processes. Anja.Slim@monash.edu
Prof Warwick TuckerDynamical systems, Chaos theory, Computer-assisted proofs, Artificial intelligence.Warwick.Tucker@monash.edu
Dr Theodore VoGeometric singular perturbation theory; Canard theory; Dynamical systems; Spiking and bursting in excitable cells; Mixed-mode oscillations; Neuronal signalling; Early afterdepolarisations in cardiomyocytes.Theodore.Vo@monash.edu

STOCHASTIC PROCESSES

A/Prof Andrea Collevecchio Stochastic processes, large deviations and applications to statistical mechanics, random graph theory, self-interacting random processes, urn models. Andrea.Collevecchio@monash.edu
Dr Amogh DeshpandeTheoretical and computational approaches to problems in financial and actuarial mathematics.Amogh.Deshpande@monash.edu
Dr Hasan FallahgoulTheoretical and Empirical Asset pricing, financial econometrics, machine learningHasan.Fallahgoul@monash.edu
A/Prof Tim Garoni Mathematical physics, statistical mechanics, combinatorics (probability on graphs), Markov chain Monte Carlo methods Tim.Garoni@monash.edu
A/Prof Kais Hamza General theory of stochastic processes, representation properties for martingales, markov jump processes, applications of stochastic processes to modelling of financial markets. Kais.Hamza@monash.edu
A/Prof Jonathan Keith Bayesian modelling and computational methods, bioinformatics, invasive species modelling and epidemiology. Jonathan.Keith@monash.edu
Prof Fima Klebaner Stochastic processes, probability; stochastic models, populations models, financial mathematics, volatility, market models, martingales, random perturbations, applied probability. Fima.Klebaner@monash.edu
Prof Gregoire LoeperOptimal transport, Financial mathematics, Non-linear PDE's, Monge-Ampere equation.Gregoire.Loeper@monash.edu
Dr Gregory Markowsky Stochastic processes, Markov chains, complex analysis, probability on graphs, financial mathematics. Greg.Markowsky@monash.edu
Dr Kihun NamBackward stochastic differential equations, optimal control of random systems such as dynamic random network, stochastic differential game, and their application to finance and biology.Kihun.Nam@monash.edu
A/Prof Tianhai Tian Mathematical modelling of complex biological systems, including genetic regulatory networks, cell signalling transduction pathways, and cancer therapy. Inference of complex networks from big data. Tianhai.Tian@monash.edu
Dr Yu TianRetirement income product design and pricing, portfolio optimisation, derivatives pricing and risk management.Oscar.Tian@monash.edu