The PULSAR (Principles Unite Local Services Assisting Recovery) project was a training and research project funded by the Victorian State Government's Mental Illness Research Fund (MIRF). The project tested a practical approach to address the vital issue of how different types of services within a defined geographical area can be refocused to support recovery. It was expected to shed light on how clinical mental health, primary care and community support services can collaborate effectively and support people using mental health services to achieve their personal recovery goals.

This research supported recovery-oriented practice involving community mental health services, primary care and the community managed sector. In the project we adapted a range of existing materials for the Australian setting so that the content and processes of training and development are sensitive to needs of the Victorian mental health care system, the local cultural and legal contexts. We used materials developed by our research partners in London, UK, and materials we have developed in Australia for similar work in the primary care sector. The modification for Primary Care will also draw on work from Monash University in the development of recovery oriented treatment plans, a project commissioned by the Commonwealth Department of health and Ageing and the Royal Australian College of general Practitioners. We delivered these interventions and evaluated the process in a carefully designed trial format. The aim of the work was to develop, evaluate, and make readily available a set of training materials and organisational change tools that would facilitate all these services to work together to successfully deliver recovery oriented practice.

PULSAR manual for Specialist and Community Mental Health Services

Direct Care/Support Delivery participants

Agencies and people involved in the support of people with a mental illness who were associated with the PULSAR Recovery project include:

The direct care participants are also key research participants in the project.

Research contributors

Other major research contributors and key contacts include:

Prof. Graham Meadows Southern Synergy, School of Psychiatry, Monash University
Prof. Mike Slade Health Service and Population Research Department, Institute of Psychiatry, King's College London
Adj Associate Prof. Jakqui Barnfield Mental Health Program, Monash Health
Associate Prof. Brendan Murphy Pine Lodge Clinic
Ms Vrinda Edan Consumer and Carer Relations MH, Mental Health Program Monash Health
Ms Christine Thornton Eastern Region Mental Health Association (ERMHA Inc.)
Dr Margaret Grigg Mind Australia
Associate Prof. Lisa Brophy Associate Professor and Principal Research Fellow at Mind Australia
Prof. Grant Russell School of Primary Health Care, Faculty of MN&HS, Monash University
Associate Prof. Harry Minas The University of Melbourne Centre for International Mental Health, Melbourne School of Population and Global Health, The University of Melbourne
Dr Ritsuko Kakuma Centre for International Mental Health, Melbourne School of Population and Global Health, The University of Melbourne
Prof. Brett Inder Department of Econometrics & Business Statistics Monash University
Prof Penelope Weller RMIT University, Melbourne
Associate Prof Elisabeth Wilson-Evered Victoria University
Prof. Ellie Fossey Department of Occupational Therapy School of Allied Health Monash University
Mr John Julian Southern Synergy, School of Psychiatry, Monash University
Dr Joanne Brooker Cabrini Hospital
Prof. David Clarke Community, Access & Partnerships, Mental Health Program Monash Health, Monash University.
Prof. Danielle Mazza Department of General Practice, School of Primary Health Care, Monash University.

We acknowledge the work of the following contributors to the PULSAR project:

PULSAR trainers: Mr Paul Carr, Ms Leonie Davey, Ms Michelle Evers, Mr Richard Kasperczyk, Ms Michelle Kehoe, Ms Nita Mahbubani, Mr Carl Mast, Ms Lisa Reed, and Ms Zoe Smith.

PULSAR Lived Experience Advisory Panel (LEAP): Salome Argyropoulos, Katrina Clarke, Rose Coulter, Michelle Kehoe, Julien McDonald, Peter McKenzie, Wendy Muller, Pat Rogerson, Joanne Sheedy, Tamara Stillwell, Lorelle Zemunik.

PULSAR research staff: Ms Annie Bruxner, Ms Kimberly Buck, Dr Lisa Chaffey, Ms Michelle Kehoe, Dr Mehmet Özmen, Dr Shiva Vasi.

PULSAR fieldwork staff: Mr David Baxendale, Mr Jaspal Bhogal, Ms Jennifer Bibb, Ms Zelal Bircan, Ms Kimberly Buck, Dr Lisa Chaffey, Ms Angela Chen, Ms Sharon Clifford, Ms Lindsay Crockett, Mr Andrew Davis, Ms Bogna Drozdowska, Ms Sarah Dymond, Ms Jessie Fay, Ms Nilmini Fernando, Ms Annemarie Hindle, Ms Leanne Gordon, Ms Jackie Jenkins, Ms Maria Katergaris, Ms Michelle Kehoe, Ms So-An Lao, Ms Milsa Kamusoko, Mr Julian Matthews, Ms Valentinna Mehdizadeh, Dr Tony Mowbray, Ms Sarah Mumford, Ms Anastasia Ossoukhova, Ms Anna Shadbolt, Ms Kimberley Ure, Ms Sara Van Hooydonk, Ms Kristi-Ann Villagonzalo, Ms Lorelle Zemunick.

PULSAR administration staff: Ms Karen Braga, Ms Sharon Clifford, Ms Natalia Hernandez, Ms Debbie Lang and Ms Rachel Rodrigues.

REFOCUS team: Dr Victoria Bird, Dr Mary Leamy, and other members of the REFOCUS team.

If you are not listed here and feel you have contributed to the PULSAR project please contact us e: pulsar.admin@monash.edu

Management and advisory structure

The PULSAR project developed a module based approach to undertaking the work, supported by an advisory structure to manage and guide its development.

Module structure

PULSAR project was managed through a project steering group (Chair: Prof Graham Meadows), and Project Management Office managed by Professor Meadows. Each of the 4 modules has a task group and chairperson.

The module task groups and chairs are:

  • Adaptation Module (Chair's: John Julian, Christine Thornton & Graham Meadows)
  • Implementation Module (Chair: Penny Weller)
  • Research module (Chair: Lisa Brophy)
  • Dissemination module (Chair: Vrinda Edan)

Advisory groups

Two project advisory groups will be convened, one of consumers and family/carers (5-7 members) and a combined group of providers, consumers and family/carers (10-15 members).


CALD newsletters:

PULSAR Newsletters

Contact for PULSAR project:

Phone: + 61 3 9902 9695
Email: pulsar.admin@monash.edu