Student Academic Support Unit (SASU)

The Student Academic Support Unit (SASU) provides language and academic support for students in undergraduate and graduate-entry professional courses within the Faculty of Medicine Nursing and Health Sciences.  Particular emphasis is placed on clinical and professional communication and the needs of international students and students with English as an additional language.

Teaching programs focus on clinical and workplace communication skills, English language development, academic writing and approaches to study.

Contacts

Caulfield Campus
Dr. Bella Ross
Phone: 9903 2519
Email: Bella.Ross@monash.edu

Dr. Averil Grieve
Phone:9903 2803
Email: Averil.Grieve@monash.edu

Mr. Simon Davidson
Phone: 9903 2053
Email: Simon.Davidson@monash.edu

Clayton  Campus

Dr. Sheila Vance
Director, SASU
Phone:  9905 4027
Email:   Sheila.Vance@monash.edu

Ms. Jan Hamilton (M T W)
Phone: 9905 4026
Email: Jan.Hamilton@monash.edu

Ms. Giselle Kett (M -Th)
Phone: 9905 5191
Email: Giselle.Kett@monash.edu

Ms. Sharon Yahalom  (M T Th)
Phone: 9905 5378
Email: Sharon.Yahalom@monash.edu

Peninsula Campus  

Dr. Adela Abu-Arab
Phone: 990 44601
Mobile: 0425 753 598
Email: Adela.Abu-Arab@monash.edu

Mr Robert Cousland
Phone: 9904 4369
Email: Robert.Cousland@monash.edu

Clinical Sites

Dr. Britta Schneider
School of Clinical Sciences & Peninsula Health
Monash Medical Centre Clinical Teaching Programs Area
Mobile: 0417534452
Email: Britta.Schneider@monash.edu

Dr. Erica Schmidt
Central Clinical School & Eastern Health Clinical School
Mobile: 0400 934 259
Email: Erica.Schmidt@monash.edu