Monash doctor announced as 2017 John Monash Scholar

Monash Children’s Hospital trainee Dr Ling San Lau has been awarded a prestigious John Monash Scholarship to undertake a Master of Public Health at Columbia University in international child health.

The General Sir John Monash Foundation announced the 20 John Monash Scholars for 2017 at the Sydney Opera House last week.  John Monash Scholarships are the most important postgraduate scholarships available in Australia and are awarded to outstanding Australians with leadership potential.

Over 140 leaders from business, government and the education sector attended the gala event which included keynote addresses by NSW Premier Mike Baird MP and Foundation Chairman Ms Jillian Segal AM.

A paediatric basic trainee, Dr Lau worked as a senior resident medical officer at Monash Children’s Hospital for six months this year in infectious diseases, respiratory medicine, nephrology/rheumatology and endocrinology.

Dr Lau will use the $130,000 scholarship to study at the Mailman School of Public Health, Columbia University, New York.

“I plan to study a Master of Public Health in the Department of Population and Family Health, and will also gain a Certificate in Global Health,” said Dr Lau.

Dr Lau has a particular interest in paediatric infectious diseases, including multi-drug resistant tuberculosis and the broader global issue of antimicrobial resistance.

“I would particularly like to acknowledge the generous support of the General Sir John Monash Foundation and my scholarship sponsors Helen and Michael Gannon for this exciting opportunity,” said Dr Lau.

“My mentors and colleagues at Monash Children's Hospital (including Associate Professor Jim Buttery), the Royal Children's Hospital, Royal Women's Hospital and Austin Hospital have also been fantastic and supportive."

Premier Baird said the NSW government recognises the importance of identifying and nurturing the next generation of leaders who will be so crucial to our nation’s future and we are proud to support the General Sir John Monash Foundation.