Internationally renowned physicist Professor Michael Fuhrer elected Fellow of the Australian Academy of Science

Congratulations to Professor Michael Fuhrer FAA from the Monash University School of Physics and Astronomy on being elected as Fellow of the Australian Academy of Science.

Professor Fuhrer, an Australian Research Council (ARC) Laureate Fellow is the Director of the ARC Centre of Excellence in Future Low-Energy Electronics Technologies (FLEET), a research centre developing revolutionary new electronic devices to meet the global challenge of reducing the energy used in information technology and computation.

FLEET’s is developing ultra-low energy electronics based on new concepts, including topological materials and exciton superfluids, which can occur in materials just a few atoms thick.

More efficient, low-energy electronics technologies and devices are critical to the future of computing and communication, to address the limitations of present technology.

Professor Fuhrer is one of 20 researchers elected as Fellow of the Australian Academy of Science, and one of three researchers at Monash University to receive the award.

Thanks to Professor Fuhrer’s ground-breaking work we have learned how disorder and electron-phonon scattering limit the electrical conduction in carbon nanotubes and graphene, enabling improvements in devices based on these one-atom-thick nanomaterials.

Professor Fuhrer also created the first nanotube single-electron memory and graphene terahertz detectors, which are quick and sensitive. He has been instrumental in coordinating Australia's innovative electronic materials research community.

Other Monash University researchers to be elected Fellows of the Australian Academy of Science include Professors, Jian LI FAA and Mariapia Degli-Esposti FAA, both from the Biomedicine Discovery Institute.

Distinguished physicist Sir Mark Oliphant served as the first president of the Australian Academy of Science, which was established in 1954 by Australian Fellows of the Royal Society of London.

With the new Fellows elected to the Academy in 2023, the total number of Fellows has increased to 601.

Media enquiries:
Silvia Dropulich
Marketing, Media & Communications Manager, Monash Science
T: +61 3 9902 4513 M: +61 435 138 743