About us

Group Leader

Sasha

Dr Alexandr (Sasha) Simonov

Office: Room 328, Green Chemical Futures, Building 86, 13 Rainforest Walk

Email: alexandr.simonov@monash.edu

Vale Professor Leone Spiccia

Leone  

Collaborators

Udo

Professor Udo Bach

http://udobach.com

Office: Room 108, New Horizons, Building 82, 20 Research Way
Email: udo.bach@monash.edu

Doug

Professor Doug MacFarlane

https://www.monash.edu/science/research-groups/chemistry/macfarlane

Office: Room 328, Green Chemical Futures, Building 86, 13 Rainforest Walk
Email: douglas.macfarlane@monash.edu

Research Fellows

Manjunath

Dr Manjunath Chatti

Education: PhD in Chemistry, Monash University
BSc-MSc in Chemistry, Indian Institute of Science Education and Research - Kolkata, India

Research: Design of novel electromaterials for water splitting

Office: Room 333, Green Chemical Futures, Building 86, 13 Rainforest Walk

Email: manjunath.chatti1@monash.edu

Pavel 

Dr Pavel Cherepanov

Education: PhD in Natural Sciences (Chemistry), Department of Physical Chemistry II, University of Bayreuth, Germany

Research: Understanding the mechanisms of the electrocatalytic reduction of dinitrogen to ammonia

Office: Room 331, Green Chemical Futures, Building 86, 13 Rainforest Walk

Email: pavel.cherepanov@monash.edu

Roy 

Khang (Roy) Dinh

Education: PhD in Materials Science and Engineering, Nanyang Technological University, Singapore

Research: Seawater electrolysis

Office: Room 332, Green Chemical Futures, Building 86, 13 Rainforest Walk

E-mail: roy.dinh@monash.edu

Hoang Long

Hoang-Long Du

Education: PhD in Chemistry, Monash University, M.Sc. in Energy and Environmental Engineering, Korea Institute of Science and Technology, South Korea

Research: Design of electro-catalysts for the nitrogen reduction reaction for the synthesis of ammonia

Office: Room 332, Green Chemical Futures, Building 86, 13 Rainforest Walk

E-mail: hoang-long.du@monash.edu

Beck

Rebecca Hodgetts

Education: PhD in Chemistry, Monash University, M.Sc. in Chemistry, The University of Melbourne, Australia

Research: Mechanistic studies of the electrochemical ammonia synthesis

Office: Room 333, Green Chemical Futures, Building 86, 13 Rainforest Walk

E-mail: rebecca.hodgetts@monash.edu

Dijon

Dr Dijon Hoogeveen

Education: PhD in Chemistry, Monash University
BSc (hons.) in Chemistry, University of Canterbury, New Zealand

Research: Development of water splitting electrodes and devices; mechanistic studies in electrocatalysis

Office: Room 333, Green Chemical Futures, Building 86, 13 Rainforest Walk

Email: dijon.hoogeveen@monash.edu

Tam 

Dr Tam D. Nguyen

Education: PhD in Materials Science, Nanyang Technological University, Singapore
BEng in Engineering Physics and Nanotechnology, Vietnam National University,
Vietnam

Research: High temperature and high pressure water splitting

Office: Room 333, Green Chemical Futures, Building 86, 13 Rainforest Walk

Email: tam.nguyen2@monash.edu

Narendra 

Dr Narendra K. R. Pai

Education: PhD in Chemistry, Monash University
M.Sc. in Nanotechnology, Amrita Centre for Nanosciences, India

Research: Inorganic thin-film solution-processable solar cells

Office: Room 103, New Horizons, Building 82, 20 Research Way

Email: narendra.pai@monash.edu

Ganesharajah

Dr Gaveshana Anuradha Sepalage

Education: PhD in Chemistry, Monash University, Australia

Research: Development and investigation of low-cost electrodes for perovskite solar cells

Office: Room 103, New Horizons, Building 82, 20 Research Way

Email: gaveshana.sepalage@monash.edu

gamze 

Dr Gamze Yilmaz Kanargi

Education: PhD in Chemical and Biomolecular Engineering, National University of Singapore, Singapore

Research: Design, mechanistic studies, and performance testing of water-splitting electromaterials

Office: Room 333, Green Chemical Futures, Building 86, 13 Rainforest Walk

Email: gamze.yilmaz@monash.edu

PhD students

Ella

Eleanora (Ella) Charnetskaya

Education: MSc in Chemistry, United Arab Emirates University - Al Ain, UAE

Research: Design of electrocatalysts for the hydrogen and oxygen evolution reactions

Office: Room 333, Green Chemical Futures, Building 86, 13 Rainforest Walk

E-mail: eleanora.charnetskaya@monash.edu

Sam C 

Sam Cohen

Education: Hons in Chemistry, Monash University, Australia

Research: The reduction of ammonia to dintrogen

Office: Room 332, Green Chemical Futures, Building 86, 13 Rainforest Walk

E-mail: sam.cohen2@monash.edu

Jamie

James Gardiner

Education: Hons in Chemistry, Monash University, Australia

Research: Understanding the mechanisms of formation, operation and degradation of water oxidation catalysts at low pH

Office: Room 333, Green Chemical Futures, Building 86, 13 Rainforest Walk

E-mail: james.gardiner1@monash.edu

Yvonne

Yvonne Hora

Education: M.Sc. in Nanotechnology, Hons in Chemistry, Nanotechnology and Physics, La Trobe University, Melbourne VIC

Research: Understanding the mechanisms of degradation of perovskite solar cells; design of cheap and robust electrodes for perovskite solar cells

Office: Room 103, New Horizons, Building 82, 20 Research Way

E-mail: yvonne.hora@monash.edu

Melinda 

Melinda Krebz

Education: M.Sc. in Chemical Engineering, Budapest University of Technology and Economics, Budapest University of Technology and Economics

Research: Mechanistic studies of the electrochemical ammonia synthesis

Office: Room 333, Green Chemical Futures, Building 86, 13 Rainforest Walk

E-mail: melinda.krebsz@monash.edu

Nitish

Nitish Rai

Education: B.S.-M.S. in Material Science and Technology, Indian Institute Of Technology - Varanasi, India

Research: Design of cheap and robust electrodes for perovskite solar cells

Office: Room 103, New Horizons, Building 82, 20 Research Way

E-mail: nitish.rai@monash.edu

Darcy 

Darcy Simondson-Tammer

Education: Hons in Chemistry, Monash University, Australia

Research: Investigation of electrocatalytic systems for acidic and sea water splitting

Office: Room 333, Green Chemical Futures, Building 86, 13 Rainforest Walk

E-mail: darcy.simondson-tammer@monash.edu

Dan Van 

Daniel van Zeil

Education: Hons in Chemistry, Monash University, Australia

Research: High temperature and high pressure water splitting

Office: Room 333, Green Chemical Futures, Building 86, 13 Rainforest Walk

E-mail: daniel.vanzeil@monash.edu