Vice-Chancellor's Executive Committee

The Vice-Chancellor’s Executive Committee (VCEC) is the principal management committee of the University. The Executive Committee advises the Vice-Chancellor on matters of University strategy, policy and budget, including the capital development and information technology plans.

VCEC is one of two principle management committees that provide advice to the Vice-Chancellor.  The other is the Major Initiatives, Implementation and Oversight Committee (MIIO), which advises the Vice-Chancellor on the implementation of University strategy, monitors progress of key initiatives and provides oversight to the University's risk profile.

Terms of reference

The Committee will:

  • Endorse the University's strategic plan for submission to Council;
  • Endorse the University's annual plan;
  • Endorse the annual budget and forward estimates and recommend these to Resources and Finance Committee;
  • Endorse the University's Capital and IT program and major projects to ensure the alignment of these activities with the University's strategic plan;
  • Determine significant matters relating to University management policy and procedures as well as operational matters relating to large scale changes in academic policy, for example in areas including but not limited to:
    • Research;
    • Learning and Teaching;
    • External Engagement;
    • Global Engagement; and
    • Professional Services.
  • Review the University's strategic risk profile.

Meeting frequency

The VCEC will meet once every three weeks.


Substitutes will not be permitted unless a member plans to be absent from the University for more than four weeks.


Professor Margaret Gardner AC President and Vice-Chancellor, Chair
Professor Marc Parlange Provost and Senior Vice-President
Mr Peter Marshall Chief Operating Officer and Senior Vice-President
Mr Paul Townsend Chief Financial Officer and Senior Vice-President
Professor Abid Khan  Deputy Vice-Chancellor (Global Engagement)
Professor Susan Elliott AMDeputy Vice-Chancellor and Senior Vice-President (Education)
Professor Ken Sloan Deputy Vice-Chancellor and Senior Vice-President (Enterprise and Governance)
Ms Renaye Peters Vice-President (Campus Infrastructure and Services)
Professor Andrew Walker Pro Vice-Chancellor and President (Malaysia)
Professor Jacinta Elston Pro Vice-Chancellor (Indigenous)
Professor Rebekah Brown Senior Vice-Provost and Vice-Provost (Research)
Professor Kris Ryan Pro Vice-Chancellor (Academic)
Professor Robert Brooks President of Academic Board
Professor Shane Murray Dean, Faculty of Art Design and Architecture
Professor Sharon Pickering Dean, Faculty of Arts
Professor Simon Wilkie Dean, Faculty of Business and Economics
Professor Viv Ellis Dean, Faculty of Education
Professor Elizabeth Croft Dean, Faculty of Engineering
Professor Ann NicholsonInterim Dean, Faculty of Information Technology
Professor Bryan Horrigan Dean, Faculty of Law
Professor Christina Mitchell AO Dean, Faculty of Medicine, Nursing and Health Sciences
Professor Arthur Christopoulos Dean, Faculty of Pharmacy and Pharmaceutical Sciences
Professor Jordan Nash Dean, Faculty of Science

In attendance:

  • Chief of Staff and Executive Director, Office of the Vice-Chancellor
  • Secretary to EC

Other senior staff to attend by invitation as appropriate.

Meeting dates for 2020

Submission dates Meeting dates
6 Feb12 Feb
27 Feb3 Mar
26 Mar1 Apr
23 Apr29 Apr
21 May28 May
11 Jun17 Jun
2 Jul9 Jul
23 Jul29 Jul
13 Aug20 Aug
3 Sep9 Sep
24 Sep1 Oct
15 Oct20 Oct
12 Nov16 Nov
3 Dec8 Dec

All submissions to VCEC should be prefaced with the one-page summary sheet (DOCX, 0.05 MB).

Contact information

Professor Margaret Gardner AC
Phone: (03) 9902 9851

Ms Kerrie Edwards
Phone: (03) 9902 9851