Academic structure

With effect from 28 May 2014 pursuant to Regulation 7(1) of the Monash University (Vice-Chancellor) Regulations, the Vice-Chancellor establishes the following sub-faculty, and the following schools, departments, centres or institutes as shown below.

This notice is effective from 28 May 2014, and may be altered by the Vice-Chancellor by further notice published from time to time on the University website.

Faculty of Art, Design and Architecture

  • Department of Architecture
  • Department of Design
  • Department of Fine Art

Faculty of Arts

  • School of Arts and Social Sciences (Malaysia)
  • School of Geography and Environmental Science
  • School of Philosophical, Historical and International Studies
  • School of Social Sciences
  • Sir Zelman Cowen School of Music
  • School of Languages, Literatures, Cultures and Linguistics
  • School of Media, Film and Journalism
  • Monash Indigenous Centre
  • Centre for Theatre and Performance
  • National Centre for Australian Studies
  • Australian Centre for the Study of Jewish Civilisation
  • Centre for Ancient Cultures
  • Monash Bioethics Centre
  • Centre for Islam and the Modern World
  • Centre for Population and Urban Research
  • Centre for the Book
  • Centre for Medieval and Renaissance Studies
  • Centre for Postcolonial Writing
  • Centre for Studies in Religion and Theology
  • Centre for Women's Studies and Gender Research
  • Global Terrorism Research Centre
  • Institute for Public History
  • Language and Society Centre
  • Melbourne Centre for Japanese Language Education
  • Monash Asia Institute
  • Monash European and EU Centre
  • Monash Gender, Peace and Security (Monash GPS)

Faculty of Business and Economics

  • Monash Business School
    • Australian Centre for Financial Studies
  • Centre for Health Economics
  • School of Business (Malaysia)
  • Department of Accounting
  • Department of Banking and Finance
  • Department of Econometrics and Business Statistics
  • Department of Economics
  • Department of Management
  • Department of Marketing
  • Department of Business Law and Taxation

Faculty of Education

  • No Schools, Departments, Centres or Institutions

Faculty of Engineering

  • Department of Chemical Engineering
  • Department of Civil Engineering
  • Department of Electrical and Computer Systems Engineering
  • Department of Materials Engineering
  • Department of Mechanical and Aerospace Engineering
  • School of Engineering (Malaysia)
  • Australian Pulp and Paper Institute
  • Centre for Power Transformer Monitoring, Diagnostics and Life Management
  • Institute for Vision Systems Engineering
  • Intelligent Robotics Research Centre
  • Monash Water for Liveability
  • Institute of Railway Technology
  • Maintenance Technology Institute
  • Centre for Integrated Engineering Asset Management

Faculty of Information Technology

  • Caulfield School of Information Technology
  • Clayton School of Information Technology
  • School of Information Technology (Malaysia)

Faculty of Law

  • Castan Centre for Human Rights Law
  • Centre for Regulatory Studies
  • The Australian Centre for Justice Innovation

Faculty of Medicine, Nursing and Health Sciences

  • Eastern Health Clinical School
  • Jeffrey Cheah School of Medicine and Health Sciences (Malaysia)
  • Monash Centre for Scholarship in Health Education (MCSHE)
  • School of Nursing and Midwifery
  • School of Primary Health Care
  • School of Rural Health
  • School of Clinical Sciences at Monash Health
    • Department of Nutrition, Dietetics and Food
  • School of Primary and Allied Health Care

Sub-Faculty of Biomedical and Psychological Sciences

  • School of Biomedical Sciences
  • School of Psychological Sciences
  • Australian Regenerative Medicine Institute

Sub-Faculty of Translational Medicine and Public Health

  • Central Clinical School
  • School of Public Health and Preventive Medicine

Faculty of Pharmacy and Pharmaceutical Sciences

  • School of Pharmacy (Malaysia)
  • Centre for Medicine Use and Safety
  • Monash Institute of Pharmaceutical Sciences

Faculty of Science

  • School of Atmosphere and Environment
  • School of Biological Sciences
  • School of Chemistry
  • School of Mathematical Sciences
    • Centre for Quantitative Finance and Investment Strategies
  • School of Physics and Astronomy
  • School of Science (Malaysia)
  • Monash Academy for Cross and Interdisciplinary Mathematical Applications

University Institutes (non-faculty)