Distinguished alumni honoured

The University has celebrated the leadership and achievements of its alumni and student communities at the 2012 Distinguished Alumni Awards.

The awards were held on 4 October at the Regent Theatre’s Plaza Ballroom in front of about 400 alumni, staff, supporters, students and industry leaders.

Monash University Chancellor Dr Alan Finkel AM presented the 2012 Distinguished Alumni Lifetime Achievement Award to Australian legal academic and human rights advocate Professor Emeritus Ron McCallum AO (BJuris 1970, LLB (Hons) 1972) for his exceptional contribution to human rights, education, research and the community.

The Distinguished Alumni Professional Achievement Award was presented to Ms Cathie Reid (BPharm 1991) for her commitment to the pharmacy profession and her leadership in developing innovative solutions for the hospital, oncology and aged-care sectors. 

Vice-Chancellor Professor Ed Byrne presented the 2012 Distinguished Alumni Service Award to Ms Sue Renkin (MBA 1995) for her outstanding service to the University and community as a volunteer and mentor.

Doctor, entrepreneur and philanthropist Dr Sam Prince (MBBS 2006) received the Distinguished Young Alumni award.

Professor Byrne also presented the Alumni Student Award to current arts/law student Kiran Iyer for his student leadership and volunteer service to the University and the Faculty of Law.

Director, Alumni Relations Ms Louise McCarthy said the event was a wonderful way to honour the achievements of the University’s alumni community.

“It was a fabulous night; I think everyone came away from the event truly inspired by this year’s recipients,” Ms McCarthy said.

“I would like to thank the students from the Sir Zelman Cowen School of Music, Centre for Theatre and Performance and Monash Academy of Performing Arts for their support and for performing at the event. Their talent and creativity is testament to our thriving arts program.”

Master of Ceremonies was Melbourne Lord Mayor, the Right Honourable Robert Doyle (BA 1976, BEd 1984).

The glass awards – a hallmark of the event since 2007 – were designed and made by alumna and Faculty of Art, Design and Architecture staff member Ms Bethany Wheeler (BA(CeramicDes) 2000, MFA 2003).