Monash journalism students win five Ossie Awards


Investigative journalism winner Will Zwar.

Monash University journalism students have performed strongly in the 2017 Ossie Awards, winning five categories and three high commendations.

The Ossies, organised by the Journalism Research and Education Association of Australia (JERAA), are judged by leading Australian journalists.

The awards were presented at the JERAA conference in Newcastle this week. Monash prize winners include Stephanie Chen (best video – over two minutes), Chloe Strahan (best video – two minutes or less), Caitlin Henderson (best photojournalism), Will Zwar and Nadia Dimattina (investigative journalism – all media), and Mojo (Dr Charles Stuart Prize for Best Publication).

High commendations were awarded to the Monash digital production team (innovation), Christiane Barro (best text-based story over 750 words), and Gerard Escaich Folch (Dart Centre Asia-Pacific prize – Individual, Undergraduate or Postgraduate, Any Medium).

Head of Media, Film and Journalism Associate Professor Mia Lindgren congratulated MFJ’s award-winning journalism students and all staff who mentored and supported them.

“Winning five national journalism student awards is a wonderful testament to the caliber of our students – the next generation of journalists,” Associate Professor Lindgren said.

“It confirms Monash University as the leading journalism school in Australia, for the second year in a row.” 

Mojo staff editor Corinna Hente said the Ossie Award for Best Student Publication was a great reward for the tremendous work done by students.

“Mojo works because the students take pride in the publication, and in the work they do for it. I'm particularly proud of the student editors, who do the most amazing job,” Ms Hente said.

“It's not just talent – which they have in spades – it's the commitment and the effort they put in every day, and the ideas and plans they have to make it even better.”