Researcher elected as new Fellow to Australian Academy of Science

Research stock


Monash University Professor San Thang has been elected as a new Fellow to the Australian Academy of Science.

Professor Thang, School of Chemistry, is one of 21 new Fellows announced by the Academy.

Professor Thang’s nomination was based on his outstanding research innovation in polymer and materials science. He is a prominent member of the CSIRO team that invented the RAFT process – a novel tool that enables the synthesis of polymeric materials of precisely defined structure and desired properties.

Academy Professor Andrew Holmes said: “Election to the Academy celebrates excellence and recognises contributions to science of the highest order.”

“Each of these research scientists has changed the way we think and made a significant and lasting contribution to his or her field.”

New Fellows will be admitted to the Academy in a formal ceremony today in Canberra, and will make presentations about their work tomorrow at the Academy’s annual flagship event, Science at the Shine Dome.

Nine women and 12 men were announced as 2015 Fellows. The Academy now has a total of 503 Fellows and Corresponding Members, from across the breadth of the natural sciences.

The Australian Academy of Science is a private organisation of Australia’s leading research scientists, elected for their personal contributions to science.