ALTC Success for staff


Congratulations to the six staff members whose outstanding contributions to student learning have been recognised with Australian Learning and Teaching Council (ALTC) Citations in 2011.

Recipients were recognised for their significant contributions to student learning in a specific area of responsibility over a sustained period.

Professor Marnie Hughes-Warrington, Pro Vice-Chancellor (Learning and Teaching) said the awards reflected Monash University’s commitment to high-quality education.

“Monash is proud of our staff whose dedication and passion inspires our students,” Professor Hughes-Warrington said.

“The University encourages a culture of innovation in teaching through initiatives such as the Vice-Chancellor’s Awards for Teaching Excellence, which are a pathway to the ALTC Citations.”

University staff who have received 2011 ALTC Citations for Outstanding Contributions to Student Learning are:

Dr Simon Angus, Department of Economics, Faculty of Business and Economics: For developing and implementing online and in-classroom technologies that motivate, inspire and engage students to take the next step beyond the classroom.

Dr Paula Gerber, Faculty of Law: For sustained development of imaginative, practice-based pedagogies that inspire enthusiastic and independent learners of law.

Melanie Ooi, Malaysia School of Engineering (Early Career): For inspirational teaching, supervision and mentoring that equips engineering students with skills and judgement to perform impactful work on real-work problems of the semiconductor industry.

Dr Andrew Prentice, School of Mathematical Sciences, Faculty of Science:  For four decades of inspirational teaching of mathematics students, so that they may enjoy mathematics and think objectively with an open mind.

Carolyn Sutherland, Department of Business Law and Taxation, Faculty of Business and Economics: For developing innovative multimedia teaching resources that engage diverse cohorts of business students and enrich their understanding of workplace law.

Brett Williams, Community Emergency Health and Paramedic Practice, Faculty of Medicine, Nursing and Health Sciences: For scholarly leadership that has influenced the teaching, learning and service innovations of the paramedic profession.