Applications open for Zema Energy Studies Scholarship

The Australian Energy Market Operator (AEMO), with the support of the Council of Australian Governments (COAG) Energy Council and in partnership with Monash University, is pleased to announce that applications for the world-leading PhD program, the Zema Energy Studies Scholarship, are now open.

The energy sector in Australia is in the midst of an unprecedented transformation, and the expertise required to drive future energy reform will span multidisciplinary fields including energy engineering, data science and economics.

The Zema Energy Studies Scholarship has been established to honour the memory of AEMO’s founding Chief Executive Officer (CEO), energy reform leader, and Monash alumnus Matt Zema, supporting the next generation of leaders to meet Australia's energy sector challenges.

“Matt epitomised the leadership spirit of energy sector reform and his legacy will continue through the next generation of pioneers in Australia's energy sector through the Zema Scholarship,” said AEMO’s Managing Director and Chief Executive Officer, Audrey Zibelman.

“AEMO’s purpose is to shape a better energy future for all Australians – and we need the best minds to help us navigate Australia’s energy transition. I am looking forward to seeing the next generation of thought leaders come through the industry and help us deliver secure and reliable energy as technology transforms the sector.”

The Zema Scholarship aims to create a cohort of energy professionals with advanced multidisciplinary knowledge across Engineering, IT, and Business / Economics. The PhD program will deepen student’s expertise, unlock their full leadership potential and help them gain exposure to Australia’s national energy industry.

The Scholarship will provide a $35,000 per annum stipend and will support the successful applicant for the approved duration of their PhD candidature, to a maximum of three and a half years.

For more information about applications to the Zema Energy Studies Scholarship, visit the Monash University website. Applications close Thursday, 31 October 2019.