Monash emergency physician and researcher inducted onto Victorian Honour Roll of Women

Associate Professor Egerton-Warburton

Monash University's Associate Professor Egerton-Warburton

Monash University’s Associate Professor Diana Egerton-Warburton was inducted into the Victorian Honour Roll of Women for 2018 this month, in recognition of her remarkable achievements and commitment to the field of emergency medicine.

Associate Professor Egerton-Warburton is Director Emergency Medicine Research, Monash Medical Centre ED and an Emergency Physician with a passion for patient and community advocacy. She is an Associate Professor at the School of Clinical Sciences at Monash Health (SCS) and the National Drug Research Institute, Curtin University.

Associate Professor Egerton-Warburton has led and participated in a number of multi-site clinical trials and clinical research projects, with an emphasis on focused on pragmatic, patient-centered research, to influence practice and policy. She has received numerous research grants including NHMRC, AMA and VicHealth.

"Throughout my career, I’ve endeavoured to make a difference for patients and the healthcare system with which they interact,” Associate Professor Egerton-Warburton said.

“I use an investigate, innovate, evaluate and propagate model to produce effective, sustainable, cost-effective transformational change and knowledge translation to improve patient care at Monash Health and Victoria.”

“Using this model alongside public health advocacy and my college role, I have broadened the impact of my work nationally and internationally,” she said.

Associate Professor Egerton-Warburton was the president of the Australasian Society for Emergency Medicine from 1997 to 2000. She was chair of the Australasian College for Emergency Medicine Public Health Committee for almost a decade and has led an international project to highlight and reduce the harmful effects of alcohol.

She has been awarded numerous prizes including VicHealth and Australian Medical Associations (AMA), Women in Medicine Award 2016 for an “outstanding contribution to emergency medicine with a strong passion for public health”. She is a member of the Australian National Advisory Council on Alcohol and other Drugs (ANACAD) providing policy advice to the Commonwealth Government. She has provided policy advice to the Victorian minister for Health. As a supporter of #foamED (Free Open Access Medical Education) she believes in the use of social media as an education, research and advocacy tool.