Monash University awards Fellowships to outstanding leaders


The extraordinary achievements of public sector and industry leaders, and those at the forefront of public health and politics have been recognised with Fellowships from Monash University.

At a ceremony in Melbourne, distinguished leaders in their fields were acknowledged by the University with the presentation of nine Fellowships and two Honorary Fellowships.

Fellowships recognising Monash alumni were presented to the following recipients:

  • Greg Baxter, Executive Vice President and Chief Digital Officer at MetLife
  • Richard Bolt, Secretary of the Victorian Department of Economic Development, Jobs, Transport and Resources
  • Anna Burke, former Speaker of the House of Representatives in the Australian Parliament
  • Graham Cunningham, former key financial adviser to the Victorian State Government
  • Dale Fisher, Chief Executive of the Peter MacCallum Cancer Centre
  • Dimitra Manis, Chief Human Resources Officer for Revlon Inc.
  • Dr Elaine Rodrigo, Chief Strategy and Insights Officer for Danone
  • Tang Kim Chuen, President, Satellite Systems and Deputy President (Corporate Development) of Singapore Technologies Electronics Limited
  • Greg Vines, Deputy Director General of the International Labour Organisation (ILO)

Honorary Fellowships were bestowed upon the Hon Bruce Billson MP, former Federal Minister, and Emeritus Professor John Nieuwenhuysen AM, Emeritus Professor in Economics at Monash University, and a fellow of the Academy of Social Sciences of Australia.

President and Vice-Chancellor Professor Margaret Gardner AO congratulated this year’s recipients for demonstrating exceptional leadership and service to others.

“Monash was established to meet the challenges of the future; in these Fellowships the University celebrates individuals who have stepped up and made a sustained and significant contribution to transform their communities for the better,” Professor Gardner said.

The Monash University Fellowship is an honour awarded by the Council of the University in recognition of the achievements that alumni have made and continue to make through their professional distinction and outstanding service. Honorary Fellowships are awarded to individuals who are not Monash graduates.