Excellence in Learning and Teaching


Seven Monash staff were recognised for their quality teaching practice and outstanding contributions to student learning

Monash University commends seven staff members whose outstanding contributions to student learning have been recognised with Citations from the Office for Learning and Teaching (OLT) in 2012.

Announced by Minister for Tertiary Education, Senator Chris Evans, Monash staff were recognised for their quality teaching practice and outstanding contributions to student learning.

The Citations, worth $10,000 each, were awarded to academic and professional staff that demonstrated sustained dedication to improving the quality of the student learning experience within a specific area of responsibility.

The Monash awardees represented a variety of disciplines across five faculties, including the Jeffrey Cheah School of Medicine and Health Sciences at the Monash University Sunway campus.

Deputy Vice-Chancellor (Education) Professor Adam Shoemaker said the significant number of awards reflected Monash University’s commitment to high-quality education.

“Monash congratulates our colleagues whose dedication and passion inspires our students,” Professor Shoemaker said.

"This is one of Monash University’s best ever performances in Citations and represents an outcome which is equal first amongst all Australian campuses.

“The University encourages a culture of innovation in teaching through initiatives such as the Digital Education Strategy, education-focused staff positions and the Vice-Chancellor’s Awards for Teaching Excellence, which are a pathway to the OLT Citations.”

Individuals and teams from 38 universities across Australia received their honours through the Government's Australian Awards for University Teaching program.

The Citations will be presented on Tuesday 2 October at the Arts Centre in Melbourne.

Monash University staff who received 2012 OLT Citations for Outstanding Contributions to Student Learning:

Ross Brewin,
Department of Architecture, Faculty of Art, Design and Architecture: For the development and implementation of externally engaged, project-based, hands-on design curricula that reflects an outstanding command of the field of architectural education.

Dr Daniel Malone,
Department of Pharmaceutical Biology, Faculty of Pharmacy and Pharmaceutical Sciences: For sustained, innovative approaches to teaching physiology and pharmacology that instil a passion for learning in undergraduate pharmacy students at Monash University.

Dr Fiona Newton, Department of Marketing, Faculty of Business and Economics
: For the design and development of real world problem-based curricula that challenge students to strive towards excellence and experience the reward of self-efficacy.

Dr Kevin Pimbblet,
School of Physics, Faculty of Science: For risking active learning approaches in a content heavy discipline to achieve interested and engaged learners that has resulted in more students pursuing physics.

Dr Arkendu Sen and Associate Professor Lakshmi Selvaratnam,
Malaysia School of Medicine and Health Sciences: For translating Aristotle's philosophy that 'teaching is the highest form of understanding' into practice through novel technology-enhanced collaborative learning and peer teaching strategies in anatomy.

Dr Kellie Tuck, School of Chemistry, Faculty of Science: For inspiring students to a lifelong passion for chemistry through the use of innovative teaching practices.

Associate Professor Cristina Varsavsky, School of Mathematical Sciences, Faculty of Science: For sustained leadership that has driven change at the faculty and institutional levels in the pursuit of a quality learning and teaching environment.

For further information contact Courtney Karayannis, Monash Media & Communications on +61 3 9903 4841 | +61 439 013 951 or courtney.karayannis@monash.edu