Our people

Our research and education excellence is a reflection of the people behind it. We have research group leaders who are world experts in their field, in addition to many talented researchers, educators and postgraduate students.

Search for a staff member by name


Microbiology Department leadership

Head of DepartmentProfessor Stephen Turner
T:  +61 3 9902 9138
E:  Stephen.j.turner@monash.edu
W: Turner Laboratory
Personal Assistant to Head of DepartmentSherrie Young
T: +61 3 9902 9138
E: sherrie.young@monash.edu
Deputy Head of Department Professor Dena Lyras
T: +61 3 9902 9155
E: dena.lyras@monash.edu
W: Lyras Laboratory
Head of Teaching and Learning
Graduate Research Coordinator
Associate Professor Priscilla Johanesen
T: +61 3 9902 9153
E: priscilla.johanesen@monash.edu
Deputy Head of Teaching and LearningDr Meredith Hughes
T: +61 3 9902 9189
E: meredith.hughes@monash.edu
Honours ConvenorAssociate Professor John Boyce
T: +61 3 9902 9179
E: john.boyce@monash.edu
W: Boyce Laboratory
Deputy Honours ConvenorProfessor Julian Rood
T: +61 3 9902 9157
E: julian.rood@monash.edu
W: Rood Laboratory


Our academic and research staff

Our Lab Heads and Group Leaders are listed below. The lab information (click on the links to visit their laboratory websites) showcases the incredible research each of them are doing.

Name Lab information Program membership
Associate Professor John Boyce Boyce Laboratory

Bacterial pathogenesis

Professor Mariapia Degli-Esposti Degli-Esposti Laboratory

Experimental and viral immunology

Associate Professor Chris GreeningGreening Laboratory

Integrative Microbiology

Dr Rhys Grinter Infection
Dr Terry Kwok-Schuelein Kwok Schuelein Laboratory

Microbial oncogenesis

Infection; Cancer
Professor Jian Li Jian Li Laboratory

Antimicrobial systems pharmacology and drug discovery

Infection; Cardiovascular Disease
Professor Trevor Lithgow Lithgow Laboratory

Bacterial cell biology

Professor Dena Lyras Lyras Laboratory

Functional biology of bacterial pathogens

Professor Charles Mackay Mackay Laboratory

Immunology and therapeutic innovation

Associate Professor Sheena McGowan McGowan Laboratory

Structural microbiology

Infection; Cancer
Dr Gregory Moseley Moseley Laboratory

Viral pathogenesis

Professor Anton Peleg Peleg Laboratory

Mechanisms of pathogenesis of hospital-acquired organisms

Professor Julian Rood Rood Laboratory

Functional biology of bacterial pathogens

Associate Professor Anna Roujeinikova Roujeinikova Laboratory

Structural biology of bacterial virulence factors

Infection; Cancer
Dr Francesca Short Infection
Professor Stephen J Turner Turner Laboratory

T cell transcriptional regulation and epigenetic regulation



Our education-focussed academics

Name Area of research
Dr Meredith Hughes Engaging students in science, Collaborative learning
Associate Professor Priscilla Johanesen Redefining academic identity; Examining roles of lab classes in biomedical education
Dr Jen Moffat 
Dr Wendy Relf