Skip to content

Our people

Share
Share

Our research excellence is a reflection of the people behind it. We have more than 120 group leaders who are world experts in their field, in addition to several hundred talented researchers and postgraduate students.

We bring our researchers together from multiple disciplines into six global health priority areas. Our six Discovery Programs are Cancer, Cardiovascular Disease, Development and Stem Cells, Infection and Immunity, Metabolic Disease and Obesity, and Neuroscience.

We are the only Australian research body to focus on so many global health priorities in one location.

Search for researchers with primary affiliation to:

Cancer | Cardiovascular Disease | Development & Stem Cell
Infection & Immunity | Metabolic Disease & Obesity | Neuroscience

Group Leader name Research snapshot Member of:
Cancer Discovery Program

A/Prof Helen Abud
helen.abud@monash.edu
Research profile

pdf icon

Epithelial Regeneration Laboratory

Cancer; Development & Stem Cells; Infection & Immunity

Prof Roger Daly
roger.daly@monash.edu
Research profile

pdf icon

Signalling Network Laboratory

Cancer
A/Prof Chen Davidovich
chen.davidovich@monash.edu
Research profile
pdf icon

Epigenetic Regulation, Structure and Function Laboratory

Cancer
A/Prof Dominika Elmlund
dominika.elmlund@monash.edu
Research profile
pdf icon

Structure and Dynamics of Macromolecules by Cryo-EM Laboratory

Cancer; Infection & Immunity
A/Prof Hans Elmlund
hans.elmlund@monash.edu
Research profile
pdf icon

Structure and Dynamics of Macromolecules by Cryo-EM Laboratory

Cancer; Development & Stem Cells; Infection & Immunity
Dr Luc Furic
Luc.Furic@monash.edu
Research profile
pdf icon

Prostate Cancer Research Laboratory

Cancer
Dr Peter Janes
peter.janes@monash.edu
Research profile
pdf icon

Receptor Biology and Cancer Therapeutics Laboratory

Cancer; Development & Stem Cells
Prof Christina Mitchell
christina.mitchell@monash.edu
Research profile
pdf icon

Intracellular Signalling in Development, Cancer and Human Disease

Cancer
Dr Lan Nguyen
lan.k.nguyen@monash.edu
Research profile
pdf icon

Network Modelling Laboratory

Cancer
Dr Antonella Papa
antonella.papa@monash.edu
Research profile
pdf icon

Cancer Signalling Laboratory

Cancer; Metabolic Disease & Obesity; Neuroscience
Dr Georg Ramm
georg.ramm@monash.edu
Research profile
pdf icon

Organelle Biology/ Advanced Cellular Imaging Laboratory

Cancer; Infection & Immunity; Metabolic Disease & Obesity
Prof Gail Risbridger
gail.risbridger@monash.edu
Research profile
pdf icon

Prostate Cancer Research Group

Cancer; Development & Stem Cells
A/Prof Sefi Rosenbluh
sefi.rosenbluh@monash.edu
Research profile

pdf icon

Cancer Functional Genomics Lab

Cancer
Dr Renea Taylor
renea.taylor@monash.edu
Research profile
pdf icon

Reproductive Physiology Laboratory

Cancer; Development & Stem Cells; Metabolic Disease & Obesity
Dr Kylie Wagstaff
Kylie.Wagstaff@monash.edu
Research profile

pdf icon

Cancer Targeting and
Nuclear Therapeutics Laboratory

Cancer; Infection & Immunity
A/Prof Jackie Wilce
jackie.wilce@monash.edu
Research profile
pdf icon

Wilce Structural Biology Laboratory

Cancer; Infection & Immunity; Neuroscience
A/Prof Lee Wong
lee.wong@monash.edu
Research profile
pdf icon

Epigenetics and Chromatin Research Laboratory

Cancer; Development & Stem Cells
Cardiovascular Discovery Program
Prof Mibel Aguilar
mibel.aguilar@monash.edu
Research profile
pdf icon

Biomaterials & Drug Design Laboratory

Cardiovascular; Neuroscience
Dr Jane Bourke
jane.bourke@monash.edu
Research profile
pdf icon

Respiratory Pharmacology Group

Cardiovascular 
Dr Bradley Broughton
bradley.broughton@monash.edu
Research profile

pdf icon

Cardiovascular & Pulmonary Pharmacology Group

Cardiovascular
Prof Jaye Chin-Dusting
jaye.chin-dusting@monash.edu
Research profile
pdf icon

Vascular Pharmacology Laboratory

Cardiovascular
Prof Kate Denton
kate.denton@monash.edu
Research profile
pdf icon

Cardiovascular and Renal Physiology (I)

Cardiovascular; Development & Stem Cells; Neuroscience
A/Prof Roger Evans
roger.evans@monash.edu
Research profile
pdf icon

Cardiovascular and Renal Physiology (II)

Cardiovascular; Metabolic Disease & Obesity; Neuroscience
Dr Barbara Kemp
barbara.kemp@monash.edu
Research profile

pdf icon

Cardiovascular & Pulmonary Pharmacology Group

Cardiovascular; Infection & Immunity; Neuroscience
A/Prof Chrishan Samuel
chrishan.samuel@monash.edu
Research profile
pdf icon

Fibrosis Laboratory

Cardiovascular
Prof Robert Widdop
robert.widdop@monash.edu
Research profile
pdf icon

Integrative Cardiovascular Pharmacology Laboratory

Cardiovascular; Metabolic Disease & Obesity; Neuroscience
Development and Stem Cells Discovery Program
Dr Justin Adams
justin.adams@monash.edu
Research profile
pdf icon

Integrated Morphology and Palaeontology Laboratory

Development & Stem Cells
Dr Minna-Liisa Anko
minni.anko@monash.edu
Research profile
pdf icon

RNA Processing in Health and Disease Laboratory

Development & Stem Cells
Dr Traude Beilharz
traude.beilharz@monash.edu
Research profile
pdf icon

RNA Systems Biology Laboratory

Development & Stem Cells; Cancer; Infection & Immunity
Prof John Bertram
john.bertram@monash.edu
Research profile
pdf icon

Kidney Development, Programming and Disease Research Group

Development & Stem Cells; Cardiovascular Disease
Prof Jane (Mary) Black
jane.black@monash.edu
Research profile
pdf icon

Cardiovascular and Renal Developmental Programming Laboratory

Development & Stem Cells; Cardiovascular Disease
Dr Peter Boag
peter.boag@monash.edu
Research profile
pdf icon

Developmental and RNA Biology Laboratory

Development & Stem Cells
Prof John Carroll
j.carroll@monash.edu
Research profile
pdf icon

Oocyte and Embryo Development Laboratory

Development & Stem Cells; Cancer; Metabolic Disease & Obesity
A/Prof Tim Cole
tim.cole@monash.edu
Research profile
pdf icon 

Molecular Endocrinology Laboratory

Development & Stem Cells; Cancer
Dr Partha Das
partha.das@monash.edu
Research profile

pdf icon

Epigenetics and Gene Regulation Laboratory

Development & Stem Cells
Dr Luca Fiorenza
luca.fiorenza@monash.edu
Research profile
pdf icon

Virtual Anthropology Laboratory

Development & Stem Cells
Professor Kieran Harvey
kieran.harvey@monash.edu
Research profile
pdf icon

Organogenesis and Cancer Laboratory

Development & Stem Cells
Dr Robin Hobbs
robin.hobbs@monash.edu
Research profile
pdf icon

Germline Stem Cell Laboratory

Development & Stem Cells
Dr Karla Hutt
karla.hutt@monash.edu
Research profile
pdf icon

Ovarian Biology Laboratory

Development & Stem Cells
Prof Benjamin Kile
benjamin.kile@monash.edu
Research profile

pdf icon

Kile Laboratory 

Development & Stem Cells
Prof David de Kretser
david.dekretser@monash.edu
Research profile
  Development & Stem Cells
A/Prof Roger Pocock
roger.pocock@monash.edu
Research profile
pdf icon

Neuronal Development and Plasticity Laboratory

Development & Stem Cells; Neuroscience; Metabolic Disease & Obesity
A/Prof Jose Polo
jose.polo@monash.edu
Research profile
pdf icon

Reprogramming and Epigenetic Laboratory

Development & Stem Cells; Cancer, Cardiovascular Disease
Prof Sharon Ricardo
sharon.ricardo@monash.edu
Research profile
pdf icon

Kidney Regeneration and Stem Cell Laboratory

Development & Stem Cells
A/Prof Craig Smith
craig.smith@monash.edu
Research profile
pdf icon

Comparative Development and Evo-Devo Laboratory

Development & Stem Cells
A/Prof Ian Smyth
ian.smyth@monash.edu
Research profile
pdf icon

Developmental Diseases Laboratory

Development & Stem Cells; Metabolic Disease & Obesity
Infection and Immunity Discovery Program
Prof Phil Bird
phil.bird@monash.edu
Research profile
pdf icon

Cell Development and Death Laboratory

Infection and Immunity; Development & Stem Cells; Neuroscience
Dr Natalie Borg
natalie.borg@monash.edu
Research profile
pdf icon

Immunity and Infection Laboratory

Infection and Immunity; Cancer
A/Prof John Boyce
john.boyce@monash.edu
Research profile
pdf icon

Bacterial Pathogenesis Laboratory

Infection and Immunity
A/Prof Ashley Buckle
ashley.buckle@monash.edu
Research profile
pdf icon

Protein Structure, Dynamics and Engineering Laboratory

Infection and Immunity; Cancer; Cardiovascular Disease
A/Prof Irina Caminschi
irina.caminschi@monash.edu
Research profile
pdf icon

Dendritic Cell Biology and Immunotherapy

Infection and Immunity; Cancer
A/Prof Ann Chidgey
ann.chidgey@monash.edu
Research profile
pdf icon

Stem Cells and Immune Regeneration Laboratory

Infection and Immunity; Development & Stem Cells Discovery Program
Prof Brian Cooke
brian.cooke@monash.edu
Research profile
pdf icon

Cooke Research Group

Infection and Immunity; Cardiovascular Disease
A/Prof Fasseli Coulibaly
fasseli.coulibaly@monash.edu
Research profile
pdf icon

Structural Virology Laboratory

Infection and Immunity
A/Prof Max Cryle
max.cryle@monash.edu
Research profile
pdf icon

Reengineering Glycopeptide Antibiotics Laboratory

Infection and Immunity
Dr Stephen Daley
stephen.daley@monash.edu
Research profile
pdf icon

T-cell Autoreactivity Laboratory

Infection and Immunity; Development & Stem Cells
A/Prof Alex de Marco
alex.demarco@monash.edu
Research profile
pdf icon

de Marco Research Group

Infection and Immunity
A/Prof Vijaykrishna Dhanasekaran
vijay.dhanasekaran@monash.edu
Research profile
pdf icon

Infectious Disease Dynamics Laboratory

Infection and Immunity
Prof Christian Doerig
christian.doerig@monash.edu
Research profile
pdf icon

Functional Kinomics of the Human Malaria Parasite

Infection and Immunity; Cancer
A/Prof Michelle Dunstone
michelle.dunstone@monash.edu
Research profile
pdf icon

Bacterial Toxins and Immunity Laboratory

Infection and Immunity; Cancer; Development & Stem Cells
Dr Anne Fletcher
anne.l.fletcher@monash.edu
Research profile

pdf icon

Stromal Immunology Laboratory

Infection and Immunity
Prof Steven Gerondakis
steven.gerondakis@monash.edu
Research profile
pdf icon

Immune and Cancer Cell Signalling Laboratory

Infection and Immunity; Cancer; Development & Stem Cells
A/Prof Stephanie Gras
stephanie.gras@monash.edu
Research profile
pdf icon

Viral Immunity Laboratory

Infection and Immunity
Dr Tracy Heng
tracy.heng@monash.edu
Research profile
pdf icon

Stem Cells and Translational Immunology Laboratory

Infection and Immunity; Development & Stem Cells
Dr Phillip Heraud
Phil.Heraud@monash.edu
Research profile
  Infection and Immunity
Dr Kim Jacobson
kim.jacobson@monash.edu
Research profile
pdf icon

B cells and Antibody Memory Laboratory

Infection and Immunity
Prof David Jans
david.jans@monash.edu
Research profile
pdf icon

Nuclear Signalling Laboratory

Infection and Immunity; Cancer; Development & Stem Cells
Dr Kostas Knoblich
k.knoblich@monash.edu
Research profile

pdf icon

Stromal Immunology Laboratory

Infection and Immunity
Dr Terry Kwok-Schuelein
terry.kwok@monash.edu
Research profile
pdf icon

Microbial Oncogenesis Laboratory

Infection and Immunity; Cancer
Prof Nicole La Gruta
nicole.la.gruta@monash.edu
Research profile
pdf icon

La Gruta Laboratory

Infection and Immunity
A/Prof Mireille Lahoud
mireille.lahoud@monash.edu
Research profile
pdf icon

Dendritic Cell Receptors Laboratory

Infection and Immunity; Cancer
Dr Ruby Law
ruby.law@monash.edu
Research profile

pdf icon

Fibrinolysis and Wound Healing Laboratory

Infection and Immunity; Cardiovascular Disease
Dr Jerome Le Nours
jerome.lenours@monash.edu
Research profile

pdf icon

Comparative Immunology Laboratory

Infection and Immunity
Prof Jian Li
jian.li@monash.edu
Research profile
pdf icon

Antimicrobial Systems Pharmacology Laboratory

Infection and Immunity; Cardiovascular Disease
Prof Trevor Lithgow
trevor.lithgow@monash.edu
Research profile
pdf icon

Bacterial Cell Biology Laboratory

Infection and Immunity
Prof Dena Lyras
dena.lyras@monash.edu
Research profile
pdf icon

Functional Biology of Bacterial Pathogens

Infection and Immunity
Prof Charles Mackay
charles.mackay@monash.edu
Research profile

pdf icon

Immunology and therapeutic innovation

Infection and Immunity
Dr Eliana Marino
eliana.marino@monash.edu
Research profile
pdf icon

Immunology and Diabetes Laboratory

Infection and Immunity; Cardiovascular Disease; Metabolic Disease & Obesity
Dr Rommel Mathias
rommel.mathias@monash.edu
Research profile
pdf icon

Viral Pathogenesis and Host Cellular Defense

Infection and Immunity
Dr Sheena McGowan
sheena.mcgowan@monash.edu
Research profile
pdf icon

Structural Microbiology Laboratory

Infection and Immunity; Cancer
Prof Paul McMenamin
paul.mcmenamin@monash.edu
Research profile
pdf icon

Ocular Immunology Group

Infection and Immunity; Development & Stem Cells; Neuroscience
Dr Nicole Mifsud
nicole.mifsud@monash.edu
Research profile

pdf icon

Clinical Immunology Laboratory

Infection and Immunity
Dr Gregory Moseley
greg.moseley@monash.edu
Research profile

pdf icon

Viral Pathogenesis Laboratory

Infection and Immunity
Dr Thomas Naderer
thomas.naderer@monash.edu
Research profile
pdf icon

Macrophage-Pathogen Interaction Laboratory

Infection and Immunity; Metabolic Disease & Obesity
A/Prof Meredith O'Keeffe
meredith.okeeffe@monash.edu
Research profile
pdf icon

Dendritic Cell in Health and Disease Research Group

Infection and Immunity; Cancer
Prof Anton Peleg
anton.peleg@monash.edu
Research profile
pdf icon

Mechanisms of Pathogenesis of Hospital-acquired Organisms

Infection and Immunity
A/Prof Mark Prescott
mark.prescott@monash.edu
Research profile

pdf icon

Fluorescent Protein Biosensors and Autophagy Laboratory

Infection and Immunity; Metabolic Disease & Obesity
Prof Tony Purcell
anthony.purcell@monash.edu
Research profile
pdf icon

Immunoproteomics Laboratory

Infection and Immunity; Cancer
Dr Remy Robert
remy.robert@monash.edu
Research profile

pdf icon

Therapeutic Antibodies for Inflammation Laboratory

Infection and Immunity
Prof Julian Rood
julian.rood@monash.edu
Research profile
pdf icon

Functional Biology of Bacterial Pathogens

Infection and Immunity
Prof Jamie Rossjohn
jamie.rossjohn@monash.edu
Research profile
pdf icon

Infection and Immunity Laboratory

Infection and Immunity; Cancer
A/Prof Anna Roujeinikova
anna.roujeinikova@monash.edu
Research profile
pdf icon

Structural Biology of Helicobacter Pylori Virulence Factors

Infection and Immunity; Cancer
Dr Jiangning Song
jiangning.song@monash.edu
Research profile
pdf icon

Structural Bioinformatics Laboratory

Infection and Immunity; Cancer
A/Prof Martin Stone
martin.stone@monash.edu
Research profile
pdf icon

Chemokine-Receptor Interaction Laboratory

Infection and Immunity; Cardiovascular Disease
A/Prof Ana Traven
ana.traven@monash.edu
Research profile
pdf icon

Fungal Pathogens and Gene Expression Control Laboratory

Infection and Immunity
Prof Stephen J Turner
stephen.j.turner@monash.edu
Research profile
pdf icon

T Cell Transcriptional Regulation and Epigenetic Regulation

Infection and Immunity
Dr Julian Vivian
julian.vivian@monash.edu
Research profile
pdf icon

Vivian Research Group

Infection and Immunity
Prof James Whisstock
james.whisstock@monash.edu
Research profile
pdf icon

Whisstock Structural Biology Laboratory

Infection and Immunity; Cancer; Neuroscience
Prof Matthew Wilce
matthew.wilce@monash.edu
Research profile
pdf icon

Wilce Structural Biology Laboratory

Infection and Immunity
Prof Colby Zaph
colby.zaph@monash.edu
Research profile
pdf icon

Laboratory of Mucosal Immunity and Inflammation

Infection and Immunity; Cancer; Development & Stem Cells
Metabolic Disease and Obesity Discovery Program
A/Prof Zane Andrews
zane.andrews@monash.edu
Research profile
pdf icon

Neural Control of Energy Homeostasis Laboratory

Metabolic Disease & Obesity; Neuroscience
Prof Michael Cowley
michael.cowley@monash.edu
Research profile
pdf icon

Metabolic Neurophysiology Laboratory

Metabolic Disease & Obesity; Cardiovascular Disease; Neuroscience
Dr Craig Harrison
craig.harrison@monash.edu
Research profile
pdf icon

Growth Factor Therapeutics Laboratory

Metabolic Disease & Obesity; Development & Stem Cells
Dr Belinda Henry
belinda.henry@monash.edu
Research profile
pdf icon

Metabolic Neuroendocrinology Laboratory

Metabolic Disease & Obesity
A/Prof Jinhua Li
jinhua.li@monash.edu
Research profile
pdf icon

Renal Fibrosis Research Laboratory

Metabolic Disease & Obesity; Cardiovascular Disease
Prof Brian Oldfield
brian.oldfield@monash.edu
Research profile
pdf icon

Metabolic Neuroscience Laboratory

Metabolic Disease & Obesity; Neuroscience
Dr Adam Rose
adam.rose@monash.edu
Research profile

pdf icon

Nutrient Metabolism and Signalling Laboratory

Metabolic Disease & Obesity
Prof Mike Ryan
michael.ryan@monash.edu
Research profile
pdf icon

Mitochondrial Biology and Disease Laboratory

Metabolic Disease & Obesity; Neuroscience
Prof Mark Sleeman
mark.sleeman@monash.edu
Research profile
pdf icon

Physiological Genomics Laboratory

Metabolic Disease & Obesity; Cardiovascular Disease; Infection & Immunity
Prof David Spanswick
david.spanswick@monash.edu
Research profile
pdf icon

Obesity and Metabolic Neurophysiology Laboratory

Metabolic Disease & Obesity; Neuroscience
Prof Tony Tiganis
tony.tiganis@monash.edu
Research profile
pdf icon

Cellular Signalling & Human Disease Laboratory

Metabolic Disease & Obesity; Cancer; Infection & Immunity
Prof Matthew Watt
matthew.watt@monash.edu
Research profile
pdf icon

Biology of Lipid Metabolism Laboratory

Metabolic Disease & Obesity; Cancer
Neuroscience Discovery Program
Dr Siew Chai
siew.chai@monash.edu
Research profile
pdf icon

Insulin-Regulated Aminopeptidase (IRAP) Laboratory

Neuroscience; Cardiovascular Disease; Metabolic Disease & Obesity
Prof Iain Clarke
iain.clarke@monash.edu
Research profile
pdf icon

Neuroendocrinology Laboratory

Neuroscience; Development & Stem Cells; Metabolic Disease & Obesity
Dr Bradley Edwards
bradley.edwards@monash.edu
Research profile
pdf icon

Sleep and Circadian Medicine Laboratory

Neuroscience
Dr Wendy Imlach
wendy.imlach@monash.edu
Research profile

pdf icon

Pain Mechanisms Laboratory

Neuroscience
Dr Sanjaya Kuruppu
sanjaya.kuruppu@monash.edu
Research profile

pdf icon

Kuruppu Research Group

Neuroscience; Cardiovascular Disease
Dr Michael Lazarou
michael.lazarou@monash.edu
Research profile
pdf icon

Mitophagy and Mitochondrial Quality Control in Disease

Neuroscience; Infection & Immunity; Metabolic Disease & Obesity
Dr Leo Lui
leo.lui@monash.edu
Research profile
pdf icon

Lui Research Group

Neuroscience
Dr Farshad Mansouri
farshad.mansouri@monash.edu
Research profile
pdf icon

Cognitive Neuroscience Laboratory

Neuroscience
Dr Adam Morris
adam.morris@monash.edu
Research profile
pdf icon

Morris Research Group

Neuroscience
Dr Brent Neumann
brent.neumann@monash.edu
Research profile
pdf icon

Nervous System Development and Repair Laboratory

Neuroscience; Development & Stem Cells
Prof Helena Parkington
helena.parkington@monash.edu
Research profile
  Neuroscience; Cardiovascular Disease; Metabolic Disease & Obesity
Dr Nicholas Price
nicholas.price@monash.edu
Research profile
pdf icon

Price Research Group

Neuroscience
Prof Ramesh Rajan
ramesh.rajan@monash.edu
Research profile
pdf icon

Rajan Research Group

Neuroscience; Cardiovascular Disease
Prof Marcello Rosa
marcello.rosa@monash.edu
Research profile
pdf icon

Laboratory for Cognitive and Sensory Systems Neuroscience

Neuroscience
Dr Yan Wong
yan.wong@monash.edu
Research profile

pdf icon

Neurobionics Laboratory

Neuroscience

Prof Zhicheng Xiao
zhicheng.xiao@monash.edu
Research profile

pdf icon

Neurodegeneration and Regeneration Group

Neuroscience; Development & Stem Cells; Infection & Immunity

Dr Hsin Yu
Hsin-Hao.Yu@monash.edu
Research profile

pdf icon

Yu Research Group

Neuroscience