Next generation astronomers win national recognition

Congratulations to Dr Adelle Goodwin on being awarded the Astronomical Society of Australia’s Charlene Heisler Prize for the most outstanding PhD thesis. Dr Goodwin completed her PhD thesis at Monash University and is now a postdoctoral researcher at the International Centre for Radio Astronomy, Curtin University.

Dr Goodwin predicted an outburst from neutron star SAX J1808.4−3658, enabling five groups of researchers and seven telescopes to examine the onset of such an event in detail for the first time.

The Astronomical Society of Australia (ASA) will honour award winners - a Sydney student, early-career and researchers from Perth and Melbourne - at its Annual Scientific Meeting in Hobart 27 June – 1 July.

“Australian astronomers are among the best in the world, and the breadth of these prestigious awards shows why we lead the world in so many areas. It is a pleasure to recognise these examples of individual brilliance, as well as teamwork, and technical innovation,” said ASA President Professor John Lattanzio, from the Monash University School of Physics and Astronomy.

Award-winning research included:

Media enquiries:
Silvia Dropulich
Marketing, Media & Communications Manager, Monash Science
T: +61 3 9902 4513 M: +61 435 138 743