About us

Group Leaders

Professor Doug MacFarlane

Professor Doug MacFarlane

Douglas.MacFarlane@monash.edu
(+61 3) 9905 4540
13 Rainforest Walk, Building 86, Room 328

Research interests

  • Fuel generation through solar energy conversion
  • Electrochemical applications, including Metal-Air batteries, solar cells and thermocells
  • Biotechnology including: Protein Stabilisation and Biopreservation
  • Gas absorption and processing
  • Novel Ionic Liquids and Ionic Materials
Dr Katya Pas

Dr. Ekaterina (Katya) Pas

Katya.Pas@monash.edu
(+61 3) 9905 8639
17 Rainforest Walk, Building 23, Room 124

Research interests

  • Studying Ionic Liquids from First Principles (Ab Initio) Calculations
  • Ab Initio Methods for understanding Molecular, Thermodynamic and Transport Properties
  • Fragment Molecular Orbital (MO) Approach for large-scale calculations
Dr Jenny Pringle

Dr. Jenny Pringle

Research interests

  • Electrosynthesis of Conducting Polymers
  • Dye-Sensitised Solar Cells
  • Thermoelectrochemical Cells
  • Organic Ionic Plastic Crystals
 Prof Alan Bond

Emeritus Professor Alan Bond

Alan.Bond@monash.edu

Research interests

  • Development and Application of Modern Electroanalytical Techniques
 Assoc. Prof. Stuart Batten

Associate Professor Stuart Batten

Stuart.Batten@monash.edu
(+61 3) 9905 4606
19 Rainforest Walk, Building 19, Room 113

Research interests

  • Crystal Engineering
  • Coordination Polymers
  • Metallosupramolecular Chemistry
  • Chemistry of Pseudohalide Anions
  • Interpenetration
  • X-ray Crystallography
  • Ionic Liquids

Research Fellows

 Dr Vijay Ranganathan

Dr. Vijay Ranganathan

Vijay.Ranganathan@monash.edu
(+61 3) 9905 4642
13 Rainforest Walk, Building 86, Room 329

Research interests

  • Synthesis and Characterisation of Biocompatible Ionic Liquids/Gels
  • Enzyme Encapsulation
  • Novel Ionic Biomaterials for Biomedical Devices
  • Stabilisation of Biomacromolecules in Biocompatible Ionic Liquids
  • Ionic Liquids as Alternative Solvents
 Dr. Xinyi Zhang

Dr. Xinyi Zhang

Xinyi.Zhang@monash.edu
(+61 3) 9902 4619
13 Rainforest Walk, Building 86, Room 331

Research Interests

  • Mesoporous materials for energy conversion, storage and green chemical technology
Ms Mega Kar

Dr. Mega Kar

Mega.Kar@monash.edu
(+61 3) 9905 5503
13 Rainforest Walk, Building 86, Room 332

Research interests

  • Ionic liquid electrolytes for metal-air batteries

Mr Ciaran McDonald-Worth

Dr. Ciaran McDonnell-Worth

Ciaran.McDonnell-Worth@monash.edu
(+61 3) 9905 5503
13 Rainforest Walk, Building 86, Room 332

Research interests

  • Electrochemical ammonia Synthesis
 

Dr. Tiago Mendes

Tiago.Mendes@monash.edu

(+61 3) 9905 1449
13 Rainforest Walk, Building 86, Room 333

Research interests

  • Carbon based electrodes for electrochemical application
 

Dr. Jacinta Bakker

jacinta.bakker@monash.edu

(+61 3) 9905 0516
13 Rainforest Walk, Building 86, Room 333

Research interests

  • Synthesis of Novel Ionic Liquids
 

Dr. Bryan Suryanto

bryan.suryanto@monash.edu

(+61 3) 9905 0516
13 Rainforest Walk, Building 86, Room 332

Research interests

  • Electrode materials for gas reduction
 

Dr. Karolina Matuszek 

karolina.matuszek@monash.edu

(+61 3) 9905 5503
13 Rainforest Walk, Building 86, Room 333

Research interests

  • Ionic materials for phase change applications

Dr. Diogo Cabral

Diogo.Cabral@monash.edu
(+61 3) 9905 5503
13 Rainforest Walk, Building 86, Room 333

Research interests

  • Novel redox couples
  • Flow Batteries
 

Dr. Federico Vallana

Diogo.Cabral@monash.edu
(+61 3) 9905 5503
13 Rainforest Walk, Building 86, Room 333

Research interests

  • Electrochemical ammonia synthesis

Research Support

 Dr. Gary Annat

Dr. Gary Annat (Research Support Manager)

Gary.Annat@monash.edu
(+61) 3 9905 4642
13 Rainforest Walk, Building 86, Room 329

Dr Peter Newman

Dr. Peter Newman (Affiliate)

Peter.Newman@monash.edu
(+61 3) 9905 5503
13 Rainforest Walk, Building 86, Room 332

PhD students

Mr. Muataz Ali

Muataz.Ali@monash.edu
(+61 3) 9905 1449
13 Rainforest Walk, Building 86, Room 333

Research interests

  • Photo and Photo-electrochemical reduction reaction on black silicon membrane

Mr. Ahmed Halima

Research interests

  • Diamond interfaces for electrochemical hydrogen production

Colin Kang

Mr. Colin Kang

Colin.Kang@monash.edu
(+61 3) 9905 5503
13 Rainforest Walk, Building 86, Room 332

Research interests

  • Ionic liquids for electrochemical reduction of gases
Zheng Ma 

Ms. Zheng Ma

Zheng.ma@monash.edu
(+61 3) 9905 5503
13 Rainforest Walk, Building 86, Room 332

Research interests

  • Metal-Air Batteries
 

Ms. Jo Ramamurthy

Jyothi.Ramamurthy@csiro.au

Dabin WANG

Mr. Dabin Wang

dabin.wang@monash.edu
(+61 3) 9905 1449
13 Rainforest Walk, Building 86, Room 333

Research interests

  • Membranes for for electrochemical application
 

Mr. Changlong Xiao

changlong.xiao@monash.edu
(+61 3) 9905 1449
13 Rainforest Walk, Building 86, Room 333

Research interests

  • Electrode materials for electrochemistry
 

Mr. Thomas Blesch

@monash.edu
(+61 3) 9905 5503
13 Rainforest Walk, Building 86, Room 333

Research interests

  • y
 

Mr. Chengyun Liu

chengyun.liu@monash.edu
(+61 3) 9905 1449
13 Rainforest Walk, Building 86, Room 332

Research interests

  • y
 

Mr. Cuong Nguyen

cuong.nguyen@monash.edu
(+61 3) 9905 5503
13 Rainforest Walk, Building 86, Room 333

Research interests

  • Electrode materials for electrochemistry
 

Mr. Sam Johnston

@monash.edu
(+61 3) 9905 1449
13 Rainforest Walk, Building 86, Room 332

Research interests

  • Electrode materials for electrochemistry
 

Mr. Shuo Dong

@monash.edu
(+61 3) 9905 1449
13 Rainforest Walk, Building 86, Room 332

Research interests

  • Electrode materials for electrochemistry

IITB-Monash PhD students

 

Mr Manohar Chinnareddy

Chinnareddy.Manohar@monash.edu

Recent Graduates

Alison Chong

Kun Chen

Find us at Clayton: Download the Clayton Campus Map
School of Chemistry: Building 86, 13 Rainforest Walk