Structural Engineering

Structures Group

The vision of the structural discipline is: smarter, stronger, more durable structures – informing responsible future practices in structural engineering. Our projects span all three of the department's research themes.


Head of Discipline: A/Prof Amin Heidarpour

Academic staff

Prof Mathew Aitchison
A/Prof Mehrdad Arashpour
Prof Yu Bai
A/Prof Colin Caprani
Prof Wenhui Duan
Dr Yihai Fang
A/Prof Amin Heidarpour
Dr Ye Lu
A/Prof Ossie Martinz
Dr Robert Moehler
Dr Phu Nguyen
Dr Elizabeth Sironic

Research staff

Dr Yaoxin Hu
Dr Mayer Melhem
Dr Sherry Zhang

Adjunct staff

Prof Chien Ming Wang
Dr Xiaoming Wang
Prof Xiao-Ling Zhao

Key facility

Teaching commitments

The structural discipline makes teaching contributions to a range of undergraduate and postgraduate programs.