Geomechanics Engineering

The geomechanics discipline at the Department of Civil Engineering is leading in a wide range of research projects that span all three of the department's research themes.

The geomechanics discipline is also a part of the Monash Infrastructure (MI) and Monash Energy Institute


Head of Discipline - Dr Ha H. Bui

Academic staff

Prof Abdelmalek Bouazza
Dr Ha Bui
Prof Ranjith Pathemaga Gamage
Dr Asadul Haque
Prof Jayantha Kodikara
Dr Xu Yang
Dr Qianbing Zhang
Dr Chunshun Zhang

Research staff

Dr Guoyang Fu
Dr Benjamin Shannon

Adjunct staff

Dr Chris Haberfield
Dr Vincent Lemiale
Dr Julian Seidel
Prof Ronald Rowe

Key facilities

Teaching commitments

The geomechanics discipline makes teaching contributions to a range of undergraduate and postgraduate programs.