Honours weighted average

In Engineering we award our bachelor degrees with honours for meritorious performance. An additional honours year is not required.

How we calculate your honours weighted average (HWA)

HWA rules if you commenced from 2021

For students who commenced in a new course from 2021 onwards (including students who have transferred into a new course code from 2021) the HWA is based on your WAM for units contributing to the engineering degree. If you are studying a double degree, the HWA will not include units from the partner faculty degree.

HWA rules if you commenced prior to 2021

The HWA is based on a similar formula to the WAM and includes a weighting for each unit. A level one unit is weighted by a factor of one, a level two unit is weighted by a factor of two etc. The unit level is determined by the first number of the unit code (eg ENG3000 would be weighted by a factor of three, irrespective of whether you completed it at second, third or fourth year etc). A mark you achieve after repeating a unit is reduced by 10% before being weighted.

Most engineering courses have (Honours) in the course title. The HWA calculation is independent of the (Honours) course title. It's possible to complete a Bachelor of Engineering (Honours) and graduate with a Pass grade (ie without meritorious honours).

Impact of Academic Safety Net

SFR and NSR grades (including those awarded under the Academic Safety Net) and units that you have passed and have elected not to have appear on your transcript do not contribute towards the HWA.