Professor Joanne Etheridge

Professor Joanne Etheridge

Director, Monash Centre for Electron Microscopy
Professor, Materials Science and Engineering
Department of Materials Science and Engineering

Professor Joanne Etheridge’s current Appointments

  • Director, Monash Centre for Electron Microscopy, Office of the Pro-Vice Chancellor Research and Research Infrastructure.
  • Professor, Department of Materials Science and Engineering.

Professor Joanne Etheridge’s previous Appointments

  • McMaster University: Visiting Professor, Brockhouse Institute (2005-2008)
  • Royal Society University Research Fellow, Dept of Materials Science and Metallurgy, University of Cambridge. (1999-2003) 
  • Senior Research Associate, Dept of Materials Sci and Metallurgy, University of Cambridge. (1997-1998)
  • Rosalind Franklin Research Fellow, Newnham College and Dept of Materials Sci and Metallurgy, University of Cambridge (1994-97).


Electron Microscopy, Electron Diffraction, Diffraction and imaging physics, Crystallography, Nanoparticles, Nanostructures, Perovskites, Materials Characterisation,

Selected Professional Activities

  • Editorial Boards:

Physical Review Materials; 
Microscopy (OUP)

  • International Union of Crystallographers: Commission on Electron Crystallography 2007-2014
  • Australian Academy of Science
    • National Committee for Materials Science and Engineering 2014 –
    • National Committee for Crystallography 2013 – 2016
    • National Nanotechnology Research Strategy 2011


  • 2019, Fellow, Australian Academy of Science
  • 2016, John Sanders Medal, Australian Microscopy and Microanalysis Society.
  • 1995, KM Stott Prize, University of Cambridge.
  • 1998, Royal Society University Research Fellowship, The Royal Society.

Research articles, papers & publications


Last modified: 25/05/2020