FIT academics receive awards of distinction

28 October 2015

The Faculty of Information Technology staff have had a winning streak, gaining awards for their work in areas of archival education, recordkeeping and computing history.

Professor Sue McKemmish, Associate Dean of Graduate Research for the Faculty, was awarded the Australian Society of Archivists (ASA) 2014 Publications Mander Jones award (category 5) for the best article or chapter about archives written by an Australian in an archives, library, museum or records management journal. The award recognises Professor McKemmish’s contribution to The Role of Participatory Archives in Furthering Human Rights, Reconciliation and Recovery.

Dr Viviane Hessami, a graduate of the Diploma of Information Knowledge Management, also won an ASA 2014 Publications Mander Jones award (category 7) for the best academic work on archives or recordkeeping produced by a student in any Australian university course. Dr Hessami has been credited for her piece 'Recordkeeping issues arising from the Public Hearings of the Royal Commission into Institutional Responses to Child Sexual Abuse'. The paper has also been accepted for publication in Archives & Manuscripts, marking the third year in a row that a Monash student has won.

Professor Graham Farr, Head of the Clayton School of Information Technology and Co-Convenor of the Discrete Mathematics Research Group, been recognised for his appointment as Fellow to the prestigious Australian Mathematical Society. To become a Fellow of the Society a member must demonstrate a high level of attainment or responsibility in an area of mathematics and make a substantial contribution to mathematics or to the profession of mathematician, or to the teaching or application of mathematics.

Over in the US, PhD candidate Katherine Jarvie was awarded Best Poster at the 2015 Archival Education and Research Institute, held at the University of Maryland. Ms Jarvie was recognised for her presentation, ‘What Gaps Exist in the Archival Representation of Animal Rights History?’.

The Faculty of IT congratulates the aforementioned recipients for their academic contribution to their fields.




Research, success