The new future of ageing: Smart homes for seniors – presented by Monash Tech Talks

Join us on November 25th to celebrate the film launch of 'Smart Homes for Seniors', directed by Sarah Pink.

Directed by Professor Sarah Pink from the Emerging Technologies Research Lab, ‘Smart Homes for Seniors' shares the joys, frustrations and wisdom of Australian seniors as they learned to live with digital voice assistants, smart lights and robotic vacuum cleaners during the 2020 COVID-19 pandemic.

This Monash Tech Talks event will give attendees a screening of the film before delving further into the topic during our webinar and Q&A with renowned leaders in design, hosted by Sarah Pink.

Rama Gheerawo
Director, The Helen Hamlyn Centre for Design, Royal College of Art RCA Reader in Inclusive Design

Professor Ann Light
Professor of Design and Creative Technology, University of Sussex (UK)
Professor of Interaction Design, Social Change and Sustainability at Malmö University (Sweden)

Professor Elisa Giaccardi
Professor and Chair of Post-industrial Design, and Director of Design for Interaction (Msc program), Faculty of Industrial Design Engineering, Delft University of Technology

You’ll hear about:

  • the priorities, needs and experiences of our ageing population.
  • the dire importance of accounting for the voices of seniors when designing new technologies.
  • innovations that will support older generations to stay safe, independent and active at home.
  • the Intelligent Home Solutions project behind the film, a collaboration with McLean Care, Monash University’s Emerging Technologies Research Lab and Deakin University.

Date: Thursday 25 November, 2021

Time: 6:30pm (AEST)/8:30am (GMT): Webinar and Film Screening Commences
7:05pm (AEST)/9:05am (GMT): Panel Discussion Commences
7:45pm (AEST)/9:45am (GMT): Q&A begins

For our GMT attendees, the timing for this event is 8:30 to 10:00am.

Event details
Registration