Digital energy futures (DEF) advisory committee announced

An Australia-wide Advisory Committee has been formed to strategically guide the innovative Digital Energy Futures (DEF) research project and take the findings into the broader energy industry.

Chaired by research partner Lynne Gallagher from Energy Consumers Australia (ECA), Advisory Committee Members were chosen based on their expertise in the fields of regulatory advice, policymaking, and the equity and access of energy.

Dean Lombard
Senior Energy Analyst, Renew

Kellie Caught
Senior Advisor Energy and Climate, Australian Council of Social Services (ACOSS)

Alicia Webb
Manager of Strategic Engagement, Australian Energy Market Operator (AEMO)

Kate Wild
Senior Adviser, Australian Energy Market Commission (AEMC)

Andrew Davis
General Manager, Jemena
Director, Electric Vehicle Council

David Markham
DER and Networks Policy Manager, Australian Energy Council (AEC)

Neil Horrocks
Director, Centre for Energy Data Innovation Chair, CitySmart

Bronwen Jennings
Director of Consumer Policy, Australian Energy Regulator (AER)

Grant Stepa
Advisor, Rheem Australia

Gathering for the first Advisory Committee Meeting in March, the members learnt about the project’s objectives, social science led methodology framework and pilot fieldwork findings.

“There is a national significance to this project, with the potential to take this project globally.”, Lynne Gallagher said

Members expressed their hopes for the 3-year customer-centric research, to provide useful short-term industry solutions with long-term endurance; and to explore modes to get ahead of technology without crowding anyone out.

To view the full biographies of the DEF Advisory Committee Members, please visit the People page on the DEF Website.

For up-to-date announcements and live updates, join #digitalenergyfutures on Facebook and Twitter

The research discussed was supported by the Australian Government through the Australian Research Council’s Linkage Projects funding Scheme (‘Digital Energy Futures’ project number LP180100203) in partnership with Monash University, Ausgrid, AusNet Services and Energy Consumers Australia.