Weighted average mark (WAM)

The Weighted Average Mark (WAM) is a more precise measurement of your academic performance than the Grade Point Average. This is because we base the calculation on your actual marks (eg: 78, 89, 63, 48 and so on) and the year level of each unit. Therefore, the WAM is the average mark you achieve across all completed units in a course, including any failed and repeated units. The WAM is out of 100.

We use the WAM as an entry requirement for some honours and graduate courses.

How to find out your WAM

We will calculate your WAM for your award course if you started on or after semester one, 2008. We don't calculate the WAM for Masters by Research and PhD courses.

  • You can use our online calculator below to estimate your WAM.
  • You can view your latest WAM in your unofficial academic record in the Web Enrolment System (WES) at any time. It will be calculated using the results from all of your completed semesters.
  • Your WAM will also appear on your academic record (transcript). You’ll receive a free academic record when you graduate.

If you believe your WAM is incorrect, log into Chat 365 and submit an enquiry and we’ll investigate it for you.

WAM calculator

Use the online calculator to estimate your WAM.

Estimate your WAM

Converting your WAM

If you want to know what the GPA equivalent of your WAM is, simply use our Grade point average (GPA) calculator.


WAM is weighted according to the:

  • credit point value of each unit
  • year level weighting of each unit.
Year level of unit and its weighting.
Year level of unit Year level weighting
First year (undergraduate) 0.5
All other year levels 1.0

All units designated as first year are weighted 0.5, regardless of the sequence or year in which you take the unit. For example, if you complete a first-year unit in your third year of study, it will be weighted 0.5, not 1.0.

Grades not included in the calculation:

  • SFR (satisfied faculty requirements)
  • NSR (not satisfied faculty requirements)
  • NE (not examinable)
  • NAS (not assessed)
  • WDN (withdrawn)
  • WI (withdrawn incomplete)
  • PGO (pass grade only)
  • NGO (fail grade)
  • DEF (deferred assessment)
  • NS (supplementary assessment)
  • WH (withheld)



Σ (first year unit marks x unit credit points x 0.5) + Σ (later year unit marks x unit credit points × 1.0)
Σ (first year unit credit points x 0.5) + Σ (later year unit credit points x 1.0)

Calculation steps

  1. Multiply the unit mark by unit credit point value and then by the year level weighting
  2. Sum the resulting values (weighted marks)
  3. Multiply the unit credit point value by the year level weighting
  4. Sum the resulting values (weighted credit points)
  5. Divide the sum of the weighted marks by the sum of the weighted credit points
  6. Calculate to three decimal places.


An example of how WAM is calculated for nine units with a range of grades and unit credit points across year levels.
Unit Year
Year level
Grade Unit
Weighted mark Weighted credit points
MON1001 1 0.5 63 C 6 189 3
MON1002 1 0.5 80 HD 12 480 6
MON1003 1 0.5 40 N (fail) 6 120 3
MON1004 1 0.5 85 HD 6 255 3
MON2001 2 1.0 96 HD 24 2304 24
MON2002 2 1.0   WN (withdrawn fail) 6 0 6
MON3001 3 1.0 65 C 6 390 6
MON3002 3 1.0 77 D 6 462 6
MON4001 4 1.0 82 HD 6 492 6
Total4692 63

Final calculation:

WAM = 4692 ÷ 63
WAM = 74.476

Related links

Calculating Honours Weighted Average (HWA) for honours courses that started before Jan 2021:

Got a question? Monash Connect can help