Professor Tina Brock awarded prestigious leadership award

Director of Pharmacy Education, Tina Brock, has been awarded the prestigious Phi Lambda Sigma Procter & Gamble National Leadership Award, in recognition of her outstanding contribution to pharmacy education.

The award is reserved for individuals who have demonstrated exceptional leadership qualities in support of the pharmacy profession. Recipients are nominated by their peers.

Tina Brock

Professor Brock was chosen because of her enthusiastic and sustained commitment to mentoring faculty, staff and students to advance the pharmacy profession.

“I am honoured to be joining an elite group of leaders within the pharmacy community. Some of the prior recipients of this prestigious award are actually valued personal mentors, so I feel particularly honoured that my nomination was also supported by a special group of my current mentees. Being so connected to the past, present, and future of leadership in health care makes me feel especially excited,” Professor Brock said.

Professor Brock is a highly valued member of the Education Executive in the Monash Faculty of Pharmacy and Pharmaceutical Sciences. She specialises in curriculum design and global health systems strengthening. Her research addresses interprofessional educational models, leadership development, and the use of technology-enhanced learning strategies.

The Dean of the Faculty of Pharmacy and Pharmaceutical Sciences, Professor Arthur Christopoulos, said, “Professor Brock’s unbridled commitment and contagious enthusiasm to mentoring the leaders of tomorrow is unparalleled, and a marvel to observe in action.”

“This National Leadership Award is a truly-deserved acknowledgement of her drive and passion for pharmacy education, and her capacity as a leader and mentor to so many. The Faculty is incredibly grateful for Professor Brock’s ongoing efforts to create an engaging and exciting learning experience for all our students, and we are fortunate to have her as part of our Leadership group” he said.

The award is typically presented during a live ceremony at the annual meeting of the American Pharmacists Association. This year, in light of the pandemic response, the event was held via Zoom webinar. Professor Brock’s name will also appear on the perpetual plaque held in the Phi Lambda Sigma national office.

Contact: Divya Krishnan

Phone: 0466910111