Monash pharmacy degree wins AACP Innovation award

The team of educators behind Australia’s first integrated bachelor and master of pharmacy has been awarded the 2022 Innovation in Teaching award by the prestigious American Association of Colleges and Pharmacy (AACP).

The Award recognises individuals and institutions for their outstanding contributions made to pharmacy education, in particular the utilisation of innovative teaching and learning strategies.

The Monash team has been acknowledged for its collaborative effort to develop a transformed pharmacy degree, the Bachelor of Pharmacy(Hons)/ Master of Pharmacy, focussing on student skill development, strengthening the links between program content and outcomes, and enabling students to spend more time practicing in health care settings and engaging in quality improvement activities.

The Monash team recipients include leading pharmacist educators: Dr Dan Malone, Associate Professor Kirsten Galbraith, Dr Kayley Lyons, Professor Tina Brock, Dr Ian Larson, Professor Paul White, Dr Vivienne Mak, Dr Harjit Singh and faculty General Manager, Marian Costelloe.

Course Director Dr Malone said that what sets the Monash pharmacy degree apart is the focus on skill development, with an emphasis on communication skills, and more explicit linking of pharmacy content to patients and medicines.

“Engagement with stakeholders from community and hospital pharmacy settings showed us that what employers are looking for is pharmacy graduates with both the practical skills and the soft skills required to work effectively within today’s healthcare settings,” said Dr Malone.

“Our objective was to completely transform the pharmacy curriculum so that all graduates had advanced knowledge and skills with which to improve pharmacy practice and healthcare services.”

One of the major innovations in the new degree was the creation of an Intern Foundation Program that is completed at the same time as an Intern Training Program and maximises the benefit of an internship to both the intern and the preceptor by providing structure and transparent learning outcomes.

The team has been invited by the AACP to attend their annual meeting in July this year, to present their innovation.

“On behalf of my colleagues, I would like to thank the AACP for this award. As a group we are committed to driving health improvement through education, and it is an honour to be recognised for our combined effort to transform the Monash pharmacy degree,” said Dr Malone.

Just this month, Monash University was ranked number one globally in the 2022 QS World University Rankings by Subject for Pharmacy and Pharmacology.


For media enquiries please contact:
Kate Carthew, Media and Communications Manager, Faculty of Pharmacy and Pharmaceutical Sciences
P: +61 438 674 814 /