Professor Arthur Christopoulos named new Dean

Following an extensive global search, Professor Arthur Christopoulos has been appointed Monash University’s next Dean, Faculty of Pharmacy and Pharmaceutical Sciences.

Professor Christopoulos graduated with a Bachelor of Pharmacy and a PhD in Pharmacology from the Victorian College of Pharmacy, prior to postdoctoral research in the United States and return to Australia as a Research Fellow. He joined Monash in 2006 as an Associate Professor and NHMRC Senior Research Fellow in the Department of Pharmacology. He currently holds the positions of Professor of Analytical Pharmacology, NHMRC Senior Principal Research Fellow, and Leader of the Drug Discovery Biology Theme in the Monash Institute of Pharmaceutical Sciences, Faculty of Pharmacy and Pharmaceutical Sciences.

An outstanding scientist and a Clarivate Analytics ‘Highly Cited Researcher’ in Pharmacology and Toxicology, Professor Christopoulos is recognised internationally for his work on novel approaches to drug discovery. His innovative research crosses academic and industry boundaries, incorporating computational and mathematical modelling, structural and chemical biology, molecular and cellular pharmacology, medicinal chemistry, and animal models of behaviour and disease.

Professor Christopoulos is widely published in leading journals such as NatureCellNature Chemical BiologyPNAS and Nature Communications. He has been the recipient of multiple awards, including the John J. Abel Award from the American Society for Pharmacology and Experimental Therapeutics and the Rand Medal from the Australian Society of Clinical and Experimental Pharmacologists and Toxicologists. He is a Fellow of the Australian Academy of Health and Medical Sciences and the British Pharmacological Society, Councillor of the International Union of Basic and Clinical Pharmacology, and a board member of numerous international journals.

Professor Christopoulos is a brilliant researcher who demonstrates collegiality, creativity and enterprise and will be a wonderful addition to the University’s senior management team. He is a passionate advocate for scholarship in education, research and professional practice. The experience and vision he will bring to the position of Dean will undoubtedly further advance the research and education excellence of the Faculty. Professor Christopoulos will commence his appointment in early August 2019.

Sir John Monash Distinguished Professor Bill Charman, under whose leadership  the Faculty has risen to the very highest echelons in the world in pharmacy and pharmaceutical sciences research and education, will be stepping down as Dean but will remain with the Faculty.

Contact: Divya

Phone: 0466910111