Professor Bill Charman recognised for exceptional leadership by International Pharmaceutical Federation

Professor Bill Charman from the Faculty of Pharmacy and Pharmaceutical Sciences (FPPS) has been named as the winner of the inaugural Kamal K. Midha Award for Exceptional Leadership at the virtual International Pharmaceutical Federation (FIP) congress held this week.

Professor Charman was also the only Australian to be made an FIP Fellow during the opening ceremony. An FIP Fellowship recognises individual members of FIP who have exhibited outstanding leadership internationally and distinguished themselves in pharmacy practice or the pharmaceutical sciences.


The FIP is the global body representing over four million pharmacists and pharmaceutical scientists worldwide. A non-governmental organisation, the FIP’s mission is to support global health by enabling the advancement of pharmaceutical practice, sciences and education. Prof. Kamal Midha is a pioneer in the pharmaceutical sciences and a past-president of FIP. The establishment of a major international leadership award in his name is an acknowledgment of the major transformative influence he has had on global pharmaceutical science, practice and education.  Prof. Midha also delivered our Faculty’s Barry L. Reed Distinguished Lecture in 2013.

Each year the FIP honours those who have demonstrated commendable work and dedication in areas which parallel their overall mission of advancing pharmacy practice, science and education for the betterment of global health.

Professor Arthur Christopoulos, Dean of the FPPS, says: “Prof. Kamal Midha has served as an inspiration and a mentor for innumerable scientists worldwide, myself included. To have a major global award named in his honour, and to have the inaugural recipient be our very own Professor Bill Charman, is a testament to the enduring service and contributions that both scientists have made to our profession. On behalf of the Faculty, I would like to congratulate Bill on this exceptional achievement and well-deserved recognition for his service and leadership in advancing pharmacy and the pharmaceutical sciences. I have no doubt that Kamal would also be delighted to see the FIP honour Bill in this special way”.

Previous FIP Fellow recipients from the FPPS include Professor Tina Brock (2018), Associate Professor Kirstie Galbraith (2017), Professor Jennifer Marriott (2015) and John Ware OAM (2006).

FIP Virtual 2020’ is running from 4 – 25 September and focuses on the theme ‘Living and learning through the COVID-19 pandemic – Global reflections’.