Mental Health and Wellbeing

If you are in a crisis situation

Call Police or Ambulance on 000 or Monash Security 333 (9905 3333)

For specialist advice and support or if you have concerns for someone else, please contact Safer Community, 990 51599 (9am - 5pm, weekdays), safercommunity@monash.edu

Phone counselling open 24/7; free and confidential for:
Monash Students: 1300 788 336
Monash Staff: 1300 360 364

Lifeline (24 hrs) 13 11 14

BeyondBlue Helpline: 1300 224 636 (www.beyondblue.org.au)

Suicide prevention line: 1300 651 251

People who can help in the School

Mental health first aid ambassadors help improve mental health literacy across the University, and can offer mental health interventions for staff and students, keeping information confidential where appropriate.

  
 

Dr Isobel Booksmythe, ARC DECRA Postdoctoral Fellow

isobel.booksmythe@monash.edu

T: +61 3 9905 4619

19 Rainforest Walk, Level 1, Room 100

 

Nicole DeRycke, HDR Officer

nicole.derycke@monash.edu

T: +61 3 9905 6040

Biological Sciences, 25 Rainforest Walk, Level 1, Room 105

Kate Elliott, Honours Technical Coordinator

kate.elliott@monash.edu

T: +61 3 9905 0508

25 Rainforest Walk, Level 1, Room 114

Fernando Gordillo Altamirano, PhD Student

fernando.gordilloaltamirano@monash.edu

Fernando is a Medical Doctor and a first-year PhD student in the Barr Lab.
He also runs the Social Media for the Monash Mental Health Champions Initiative.

See his Facebook post here.

Find other student mental health champions here.

Fiona Hibbert, HDR and Education Officer

fiona.hibbert@monash.edu

T: +61 3 9902 0880

25 Rainforest Walk, Level 1, Room 105

 

Dr Joslin Moore, Senior Lecturer, Ecology

joslin.moore@monash.edu

T: +61 3 9905 0799

18 Rainforest Walk, Level 2, Room 251

 

A/Professor Anne Peters, Research Training Director

anne.peters@monash.edu

T: +61 3 9905 6287

19 Rainforest Walk, Level 1, Room 108

 

Lesley Wiadrowski, Infrastructure and Resources Officer

lesley.wiadrowski@monash.edu

T: +61 3 9905 5678

25 Rainforest Walk, Level 1, Room 104

 

Winston Yee, Lab Manager, Damian Dowling Lab Group

winston.yee@monash.edu

T: +61 3 9905 3864

25 Rainforest Walk, Level 4, Room 442

Dealing with grief and loss

BeyondBlue - Dealing with grief and loss

Other Services

Monash Counselling Service
Drop-in or call 9905 3020 9am - 5pm weekdays.
University Health Service, 21 Chancellors Walk, Campus Centre, Ground floor.
Make an Appointment

Monash Mental Health Resources

Monash Mental Health and Wellbeing Programs

Mental Health and Wellbeing Support for Students

Mental Health and Wellbeing Support for Staff

Mental Health and Emergency Contacts