Applied and Computational Mathematics

Mathematics is the language of Science, and increasingly of many other disciplines. Applied Mathematics takes mathematical structures, ideas and techniques and uses them to understand, explore and predict the behaviour of physical, biological, ecological, technological, industrial, organisational and other systems. In most cases, this now involves modelling and simulation using powerful computers.

Applied Mathematics is how Mathematics engages with the world.

Academic Staff

Prof Santiago Badia COMPUTATIONAL MATHEMATICS: Numerical approximation of PDEs, Computational Science and Engineering, Parallel Scientific Computing, Numerical Linear Algebra Santiago.Badia@monash.edu
Prof Paul Cally Solar physics, magnetohydrodynamics, helioseismology, MHD waves. Paul.Cally@monash.edu
Dr Simon Clarke Evolution of nonlinear waves in geophysical fluid dynamics, numerical modelling meteorology, modeling density-stratified fluids. Simon.Clarke@monash.edu
Dr Tiangang Cui
Computational inverse problems; Uncertainty quantification; Model reduction; Machine learning; Computational geophysics; Subsurface flows.
Tiangang.Cui@monash.edu
Dr Kengo Deguchi Mathematical physics, High-speed fluid flows, asymptotic analysis, nonlinear PDEs (Naiver-Stokes equations), dynamical systems theory picture of turbulence. Kengo.Deguchi@monash.edu
Dr Alina Donea Solar Physics, Applied Mathematics for Helioseismology, Solar flares, Machine Learning Data Applications and solar quakes. Alina.Donea@monash.edu
Prof Jerome Droniou Numerical methods for elliptic and parabolic PDEs, polytopal meshes, high-order methods, finite volume methods, convergence analysis, compactness techniques. Jerome.Droniou@monash
Prof Andreas Ernst Operations Research, Integer Programming, Meta-heuristics, Applications of optimisation in logistics, mining & rostering. Andreas.Ernst@monash.edu
Dr Mark Flegg Applied mathematics, Mathematical modelling, Applied stochastic processes, multiscale modelling and Mathematical biology. Mark.Flegg@monash.edu
Prof Phil Hall Applied Mathematics, nonlinear stability theory, turbulence. Phil.Hall@monash.edu
Dr Ngan Le Theoretical and numerical analysis of stochastic partial differential equations, anomalous sub-diffusion equations. Ngan.Le@monash.edu
Dr Janosch Rieger I am working on the numerical and analytical treatment of stationary and evolving shapes and sets with applications in control theory, inverse problems and dynamical systems. Janosch.Rieger@monash.edu
A/Prof Ricardo Ruiz Baier Numerical analysis of PDEs, mixed finite element methods, modelling of multiphase flow in porous media, large solid deformations, cardiac electromechanics. Ricardo.RuizBaier@monash.edu
Prof Steven Siems Cloud physics, Boundary layer meteorology, Weather modification. Steven.Siems@monash.edu
Dr Anja Slim Theoretical, numerical, and experimental fluid dynamics, especially relevant to geology and industrial processes. Anja.Slim@monash.edu
Prof Warwick Tucker Dynamical systems, Chaos theory, Computer-assisted proofs, Artificial intelligence. Warwick.Tucker@monash.edu
Dr Theodore Vo Geometric singular perturbation theory; Canard theory; Dynamical systems; Spiking and bursting in excitable cells; Mixed-mode oscillations; Neuronal signalling; Early afterdepolarisations in cardiomyocytes. Theodore.Vo@monash.edu

Research Fellows

Dr Alberto Martin Scientific Computing, Partial Differential Equations, Finite Elements, High Performance Scientific Computing. Alberto.Martin@monash.edu
Dr Mohsen Bagheri Operations Research, Optimisation in real-world problems, Supply chain network design, Scheduling models and algorithms. Mohsen.Bagheri@monash.edu