High impact weather and climate

The high-impact weather and climate group performs research on extreme weather and climate events including heatwaves, tropical cyclones, severe storms, extreme rainfall and drought. The group examines all aspects of these events including their underlying physical processes, their variability and change over time and the ability of weather and climate models to simulate these extrema.

Research staff

Dr Ailie Gallant

Processes causing variability and change in drought and extreme heat, extreme event attribution.

ailie.gallant@monash.edu
9905 3216

Hamish Ramsay

Tropical cyclone dynamics, severe storms.

hamish.ramsay@monash.edu
9905 4213


.

Dr Martin Singh

Understanding precipitation extremes and severe convection in a warming climate.

martin.singh@monash.edu
9902 0421

Professor Neville Nicholls

El Niño Southern Oscillation and high-impact weather and climate events, variability and change in climate extremes.
neville.nicholls@monash.edu
9902 0111

Professor Michael Reeder

Dynamics of heatwaves, extreme rainfall, tropical cyclones.
michael.reeder@monash.edu
9905 4464

Dr Jennifer Catto

Extreme precipitation from fronts and extratropical cyclones, simulation of midlatitude weather systems in climate models.

jennifer.catto@monash.edu
9902 4211

Associate Professor Julie Arblaster

Climate extremes, attribution of extreme events, future change in Australian climate extremes.

julie.arblaster@monash.edu
9905 4411