Large-scale climate variability and change

The large-scale climate variability and change group deals with all aspects of climate or weather variability that is longer than a week and involves regional scales larger than 1000km. We address questions such as: How does a tropical cyclone in the Indian Ocean lead to heat waves in Melbourne or how  does changes in the ocean temperatures in the tropical Atlantic affect our rainfall patterns in Australia or what is causing a decade of drought. This also involves understanding and simulating the global climate response to anthropogenic climate change, and understanding the drivers of the recent hiatus  in global surface warming. We deal with a wide range of methods from theoretical considerations, to data analysis of observations and simulations to modelling of the climate over the full range of complexities and scales.

Research Team

 

Dietmar Dommenget

Large-scale Climate Dynamics, Climate Modelling, El Nino, Modes of Variability, Climate Change.

dietmar.dommenget@monash.edu
9905 4495

 

Michael Reeder

Dynamics of the Hadley and Walker circulations, monsoon variability, tropical rainfall

michael.reeder@monash.edu
9905 4464

 

Ailie Gallant

Australian and Southern Hemisphere climate variability, variability in atmospheric teleconnections, Australian extremes and climate change.

ailie.gallant@monash.edu
9905 3216

 

Julie Arblaster

Large scale climate dynamics, El Nino, Southern Annular Mode, Antarctic sea ice, decadal variability.

julie.arblaster@monash.edu
9905 4411

Professor Neville Nicholls

El Niño-Southern Oscillation

neville.nicholls@monash.edu
9902 0111

 

Shayne McGregor

El Nino dynamics and predictability, Pacific decadal variability, Interbasin connectivity, the recent hiatus in global warming, the impact of explosive volcanism.

shayne.mcgregor@monash.edu
9902 0423

 

Jennifer Catto

Midlatitude storm-tracks and climate change, rainfall trends and variability, atmospheric teleconnections.

jennifer.catto@monash.edu
9902 4211

Dr Martin Singh

Influence of warming on large-scale atmospheric dynamics, tropical climate change.

martin.singh@monash.edu
9902 0421