Edit Panopto videos

Panopto provides you with the ability to do some basic video editing. You can trim your video, re-record a section or remove sections from your video.

  1. Navigate to the Panopto portal.
  2. Locate the session that you want to edit
  3. Hover over the session and click on Edit.
  4. Your session will open in the Panopto Editor in a new tab.
  5. The editing timeline, located at the bottom right hand section of the screen, represents your video showing each stream of content that makes up your session. The left side of the timeline is the start of your video, the right hand side is the end of the video.

Note: You can expand the timeline to show more detail by selecting the < arrow on the left hand side of the timeline.

The Cut tool (trim video)

  1. Select the cut tool from the icons above the timeline.
  2. To trim the start and end of your session, hover of the start or end of the timeline and click and drag the bar that appears to the point you would like to trim until.
  3. To cut a section from the middle of your session, click and drag over the section you would like to cut. The cut sections will appear greyed out and will be unavailable to viewers.
  4. You can click and drag over the primary stream (P1) to cut complete sections of the session, or click and drag over individual streams (eg. S1, S2) to make those sections of individual streams unavailable to viewers.

    Note: Editing in Panopto is non-destructive, you can remove your cuts and recover content up to 3 days after your initial edits were made.
  5. When you have completed your edits, click Publish in the top right of the screen.
  6. The session will now be re-published to update the edits you have made.

The focus tool

When editing a session with multiple secondary streams, you can select which secondary stream will be displayed for the viewer, and make other secondary streams unavailable during that time. The focus tool can be especially useful when you have additional streams.

  1. Locate the session that you want to edit
  2. Hover over the session and click on Edit.
  3. Your session will open in the Panopto Editor in a new tab.
  4. From the icon toolbar above the timeline, click on the Focus tool.
  5. Click and drag over the stream you would like to focus on. All other secondary streams will be greyed out and become unavailable to the viewer.
  6. You can edit the streams in greater detail.
    1. Click on the Streams tab on the left hand side of the screen
    2. Hover over the stream you would like to edit and click More options.
    3. Click on Edit. A dialogue box will pop up.
    4. Enter your desired start and end time and click Save.

Auto-Save and Undo

The Panopto editor will automatically save any changes you make to the session, by displaying a timestamp note in the top bar

  1. You can undo any changes you make by selecting the Undo icon.
  2. If a session has unpublished changes made by another user and you try to edit the session. You can choose to:
    1. Take over the edits already made by the other user
    2. Discard those edits and start fresh
  3. To ensure all edits are made visible to viewers, be sure to click the Publish icon when you have finished editing.
  4. The session will now be re-published to show your updated edits.

Rename your session

  1. Locate the session that you want to edit.
  2. Hover over the session and click on Edit.
  3. Your session will open in the Panopto Editor in a new tab.
  4. Click on the title of the session in the top of the window and enter the new title.

  5. Hit enter to accept the change.
  6. Click Publish to save your changes and exit the Panopto Editor.

Deleting video streams

Panopto allows users to record multiple synchronous video streams. You can delete secondary streams in instances where you feel the content is redundant. Be aware that the primary stream contains the audio and cannot be deleted.

  1. Locate the session where you would like to delete a stream.
  2. Hover over the session and click on the Settings icon. A dialog box will pop up.
  3. Within the Streams tab, mouse over the streams and you will see an x.
  4. Delete the stream you wish to remove. The tag column should list the input as DV or SCREEN, you want to delete SCREEN.
  5. Click on the x.
  6. You can close the dialog box after you have finished, you may need to refresh the page to see the changes.

    delete stream