Add Zoom waiting rooms

The Waiting room feature allows the host to control when a participant joins the meeting.You can admit attendees one by one or hold all attendees in the waiting room and admit them all at once. This can be useful for one-on-one student consultations. If the Waiting room has been enabled, participants cannot join before the host. Participants will see the following screen when joining a meeting with the Waiting room enabled.

You can enable Waiting rooms for all Zoom meetings by default or individual meetings. You can also customise the Waiting room screen in the Zoom settings, see Enable Waiting room for all meetings below.

Using Waiting rooms during the Zoom meeting

If you have enabled the waiting room during a meeting, when an attendee enters the meeting, you will receive a notification. You can choose to:

  • Admit: This will allow the attendee to join the meeting.
  • See Waiting Room: This will open the participants list where you can see a list of participants in the waiting room and in the meeting.

If you click on the Participants icon or See Waiting Room option, you can view a list of participants in the Zoom meeting room, as well as those in the Waiting room. You can choose to:

  • Remove: Remove individual attendees from the waitlist, they will not be able to join the meeting.
  • Admit: Allow individual attendees to enter the meeting
  • Admit all: Allow all attendees to enter the meeting
  • Message: This will open the chat window and allow you to send a message to attendees in the Waiting room.